Topic Sponsor

temp gauge not working

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2013, 11:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default temp gauge not working

Hi everyone.. I am the proud new owner of a super clean 1995 F150. It has the 300 I6 and 5 speed with 80K OG miles on it. I cant seem to figure out the temp gauge on the dash. It does not come to life with the key on and does not register any temperature at all. Where can I start with trying to fix it? Is it as simple as a fuse, bad connection at the gauge, sensor or sending unit? What wires do I need to trace and track down?

I just got this truck and am looking forward to diving into it. I have been working on old VWs for almost 20 years, MOPARs before that. This is my first Ford, so though i am not new to turning wrenches, I am kinda in unknown territory.
Attached Images  
Old 11-03-2013, 12:11 AM

Take a screwdriver and ground the temp sender terminal to the block. If the guage pegs, the sender is bad. The sender is just a rheostat the regulates the negative current
Old 11-03-2013, 06:40 PM

I replaced the temp gauge sender (sensor? the one with the single wire in the block) to no avail. I grounded the wire to the block... no change. So it has to be either the gauge itself or the circuit path. How do I check continuity for the wire?

Also, with the key 'off', the needle points at the 'C'. when I turn the key 'on' the needle actually drops lower- its going in the wrong direction. What is going on here guys?
Old 11-05-2013, 07:30 AM
November 2011 TOTM Winner

Received 73 Likes on 71 Posts