Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Pre-1997 F150 > 1987 - 1996 F150 > Electrical
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2014, 08:30 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exclamation fuel pump not getting power?!

Alright I'm in need of assistance everyone. Quick back story for it, bought a few months ago drove fine and slowly started to have starting issues. I fixed that with a new starter motor and starter relay. Started fine after that drove it for about a week no problems. until the other night

Driving home on the interstate doing about 70 and all of a sudden my RPM gauge just dropped to zero. pushing the gas was doing nothing and I was coasting till I stopped and stalled out. I'm at a loss cause I still had all my gauges and head lights. All my electronics were working fine. I did a little research and replaced my in-line fuel pump, fuel filter and the EEC and fuel Pump relay. It cranks over, but doesn't start. The fuel pump is not getting power and I don't know what else to check.

Any help would be greatly appreciated if you need to know anything else just ask.
Tdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 12:57 AM   #2
We'd do it
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 31,616
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Thanked 388 Times in 346 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Just call me Sean
Default

Surely you checked codes before spending all that money.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Early Cuyler
Fights begin, fingerprints are took, days is lost, bail is made, court dates are ignored, cycle is repeated.
Just call me Sean is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 03:37 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Forge-World-FORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 101 Times in 98 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

You also didn't give any info about your truck. Year, engine, trans, etc.
Forge-World-FORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 04:20 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I can't pull codes if the truck doesn't run. Has to warm up the engine first. A stupid setup when I need the codes. The truck is an 89 f150 xlt lariat has a 4.9 liter in-line 6. Has dual fuel tanks.
Tdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 04:30 PM   #5
We'd do it
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 31,616
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Thanked 388 Times in 346 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Just call me Sean
Default

Yes you can.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Early Cuyler
Fights begin, fingerprints are took, days is lost, bail is made, court dates are ignored, cycle is repeated.
Just call me Sean is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 04:36 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

How? I have the code reader for the EEC-IV
Tdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 04:51 PM   #7
We'd do it
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 31,616
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Thanked 388 Times in 346 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Just call me Sean
Default

So scan it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Early Cuyler
Fights begin, fingerprints are took, days is lost, bail is made, court dates are ignored, cycle is repeated.
Just call me Sean is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 09:57 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

When i try the screen just reads 000. I read the instructions and called tech support. They said I needed to run the truck first before I could read anything. My scanner won't link with my truck's computer
Tdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 10:13 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Forgot to mention it is a standard 4 speed transmission too if that helps with anything
Tdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 12:39 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Forge-World-FORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 101 Times in 98 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I'm pretty sure it should still read stored codes without needing to warm up. The warm up is so sensors will be at the proper values when it runs the tests. If you try to do the KOEO test and your reader doesn't even connect that could either be a problem with the connection or a bad PCM.
Forge-World-FORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 12:39 PM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
fuel issue, fuel pump, no power

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.