Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Pre-1997 F150 > 1987 - 1996 F150 > Electrical
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-03-2014, 09:44 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Correct computer for swapped motor? Please help!

Hi,

I have an interesting one for the pro's out there. About a year ago I swapped my motor in my 1993 F150 Flareside XLT 5.0 AOD (blew out the old one). Everything was fine for a while, until recently I started blowing through a couple sensors.

First was a couple ignition control modules, which was fixed by my realization that I put in a black one instead of gray way back when I first got the truck.

Today, I blew through my MAP sensor, and I have not a clue why. My next plan of action is to test the amount of power going to each sensor, to see if thats causing the failure.

But regardless of the outcome of my tests, I got to thinking about something. When I did the swap, not only did the new (to me) motor have the bearing in the back making it a motor for a manual tranny (cant remember its name) but it also used the 5.8 firing order, leading me to believe the motor was out of a '94 and up and being a 5.0 HO.

Point being, I never changed my computer during the swap, and I wondered if it still needed to be done. During the swap, I used my original harness and electronic components. (Kept my AOD tranny) The only electronic part that was changed during the swap was the distributor that was with the new (to me) motor. all sensors and whatnot were kept from my original motor.

I am lost in a whirlwind of info and really need help here, sorry for the long post, and thanks in advance for the help, guys!

John
NYCflareside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 09:56 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Belmont, Ms
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 28 Times in 27 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

ECMs are not the same for the motors, most times when you do a engine swap you need to use the harness and ECM for that motor.

Last edited by Nitehawkjr; 07-04-2014 at 10:02 AM.
Nitehawkjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 01:47 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitehawkjr View Post
ECMs are not the same for the motors, most times when you do a engine swap you need to use the harness and ECM for that motor.
So in that case, how would I go about getting the right ECM? I was looking for one online, and it seems that the ECM also goes by what tranny you have. The motor is now using an AOD tranny, so how would I go about finding the right ECM?
NYCflareside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 01:51 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I was just speaking to the guy I got the motor from, He said it came from a 94, with a manual transmission.
NYCflareside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 08:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Belmont, Ms
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 28 Times in 27 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

It also goes by what emission system the vehicle is running so i would look at the original ECM for the new motor if possible to get the numbers off it or you could run the VIN and use the ECM for that specific setup but for an AOD transmission.
Nitehawkjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 02:48 AM   #6
Martin
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lehi, Utah
Posts: 1,544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 91 Times in 70 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I don't see any reason to swap out ECM from what you describe. Now maybe your current one is starting to have problems, that's another story. Seems like you need to pull the ECM and inspect it's condition, might have leaking componants.
sdmartin65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 02:48 AM
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.