Topic Sponsor

95 f150 charging issue

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2016, 12:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 95 f150 charging issue

My truck isn't charging at all. I have been reading forums and everyone has been mentioning fusible links. Wish I would have seen all these posts before I put the brand new alternator in. Anyways. Can anyone tell me where exactly they are and what they look like for the charging system? I check the fuses in the fuse box and they all seem fine. And the part that confuses me is that the battery light isn't on even though it's not charging. I'd like to fix it right but I really don't want to have to rip out my complete wiring harness. Just got this truck so I am new to the whole f150 scene. I'm use to mustangs. It's a 1995 f150 2wd with the inline 6.

Thanks for any and all help.
Old 03-14-2016, 09:35 AM

Received 708 Likes on 671 Posts

Fusible link should be in-wire between the alternator and the solenoid
Old 03-14-2016, 02:14 PM

Originally Posted by Chris_1
Fusible link should be in-wire between the alternator and the solenoid
Thanks Chris. Another question. There is a yellow wire running from the charging system over to the fuse box under the hood. Would that have a fusible link? I'm also thinking of replacing the little wires that go to the back of the alternator. Like the green one with the stripe. Do they need fusible links on them? And my last question. The green wire with the stripe has a connector that is attached to the fender (like you clip the two ends together), are those things ever fusible links or anything fancy like that? Those male and female connectors that are squarish and slide together with the clip. Sorry. I don't know what exactly they are called!
Old 03-14-2016, 04:37 PM