300 to 302 swap will the harnesses plug into firewall the same?? - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



300 to 302 swap will the harnesses plug into firewall the same??

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-15-2014, 10:25 PM   #1
Senior Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garrett PA
Posts: 117
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default 300 to 302 swap will the harnesses plug into firewall the same??

I am swapping my 302 with harness and ecu from a 93 f150 into my 92 300 truck i have both trucks sitting there my question is will I have to change my under the dash harness aswell or will it plug in just like the old one .... please help this project is more overwhelming than I thought...
wwerner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 10:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Chris_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,669
Thanked 488 Times in 466 Posts
Default

Theoretically, what's under the dash should be about the same. But you are also going '92 to '93. Best thing is to print out wiring diagrams for both trucks and do a side by side comparison paying attention to colour codes. You can also check the wire locations on the inside plugs against the outside plugs. Mostly they kept the same wire colour to do the same thing over the years. Or maybe someone else will chime in here who's already done that particular swap.
One important detail is that the fuel pressure for a '93 4.9 is 50 to 60 lbs and a v-8 is only 35 to 45 - so I'm thinking you will need to swap the fuel pumps as well or you'll have too much pressure for the 302.
4.9's didn't drop to 35-45 lbs till '95
Chris_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chris_1 For This Useful Post:
wwerner (06-15-2014)
Old 06-16-2014, 07:58 PM   #3
It's a Canadian thing eh!
 
sylver91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario, living across a hay field
Posts: 6,662
Thanked 185 Times in 180 Posts
Default

The regulator on the fuel rail adjusts the fuel pressure, not the pump.
sylver91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 11:24 PM   #4
Senior Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garrett PA
Posts: 117
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I have the wiring for the 5.0 and ecu all from the firewall forward all I need to know is ... the big plug beside the ecu on the firewall is the wring the same from 92-93 or should i swap the whole under the dash harness aswell seeing as I have the whole truck just sitting there thanks
wwerner is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So you want to install a aftermarket AMP... maltpj 2015 - Present Ford F150 91 11-21-2016 08:11 PM
Installing backup camera 2015 F150 SCab 300A Kimber15 2015 - Present Ford F150 45 10-10-2016 02:44 PM
Need help with P0022, P0354, and P0355 Chipadelphia 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 13 12-03-2015 09:36 AM
Installed a Kicker VSS system in my 96' Ranger Rogel Ford Stereo/Audio 0 09-07-2015 12:17 AM
Please help identify this plug!?!?!? __RyRy__ 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 10 09-06-2015 05:02 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com