Topic Sponsor

Motor sawp.

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2016, 04:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Motor sawp.

Heyy guys. Now I'm no mechanic by any means just a wrench Turner learning as he goes. I have a 93 f150xl 4x4 5speed with a 300 in it. It has started having minor issues and I'm wanting to swap a carbed 302 in it. Would it be a fairly easy swap and what all would I have to change to make it work.
Old 10-05-2016, 04:54 PM

Received 489 Likes on 436 Posts

It would be much easier to drop in a 302 from a 92-96 F-series.

Carb swap requires a lot of new wiring and a complete retrofit of the ignition and fuel systems, among other things.

Would be much easier to find a donor 302 truck from 92-96. Can grab everything you need out of it and it will all bolt right up.
Old 10-05-2016, 05:06 PM

What all would have to change if I did one from 92-96?
Old 10-05-2016, 05:31 PM

Pretty much everything in the engine compartment related to engine and emissions (including the exhaust manifold and y pipe), plus the computer and engine wiring harness, motor mounts, etc.

You will probably want to pick a 94-95 they will be the better 302 HO version. Avoid 96 because that is when they changed to ODB2. You will also probably want to find it from a truck that has a manual transmission, because almost all 302's with automatics in 94 and up were Mass Air Flow and your truck will be Speed Density. If you don't know what these things are start googling.

If it were a 302 to 351 swap or vice versa it would be much easier. Frankly, it isn't really worth the time and effort to to a 300 to 302 swap unless you are planning on building a badass 302. The power gains simply aren't worth it.
Old 10-05-2016, 06:07 PM