Topic Sponsor

Anyone with Rancho rs5000?

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2015, 09:33 AM

Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Anyone with Rancho rs5000?

I almost bought this at the store last night but they only had 1. Need 2 up front. When I looked at it, it looked like it did in the pics of course. But noticed I couldn't pull it apart. Is that the norm? I remember installing inexpensive shocks that came with zip ties and when I cut it, it started to expand so it can reach the lower bolt.

I can't seem to find instructions on these. I'm guessing to install it I mount the upper bolts, jack up the radius arm, bolt lower and then the weight will extend the shocks. Does that sound right?

1995 F150, 2WD, 5.0L EFI
Old 09-02-2015, 11:03 AM

Received 489 Likes on 436 Posts

Most shocks you can compress by hand with force/weight. They should naturally rebound. If they don't I would take them back and get new ones. But I have no experience with Rancho's.
Old 09-03-2015, 10:56 PM
Wondering Around

Received 212 Likes on 156 Posts

Rancho shocks have digressive vs progressive valving. There are advantages to both and also disadvantages. I personally don't like Rancho's due to the digressive valving as you said the rod stays where you put them instead of extending on their own.
Old 09-05-2015, 12:57 AM

Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts

Originally Posted by MT-Ford
Rancho shocks have digressive vs progressive valving. There are advantages to both and also disadvantages. I personally don't like Rancho's due to the digressive valving as you said the rod stays where you put them instead of extending on their own.
Thanks I was able to put them on after learning I needed to tighten the lower bolt first so I have the leverage to put the top. Doing it the other way I couldn't get the lower bolt on because of the angle. Anyway, it was tight and it rides okay.