Topic Sponsor

Please help! First Time Motor Swap

Old 02-17-2017, 04:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please help! First Time Motor Swap

Everyone says don't trust people online. well I made that mistake. I bought a '96 f-150 from the rust belt (southern Michigan) on the assumption the gentleman selling it to me was honest. It appeared to need some body work and bushing replacements; no big deal I thought. I get home and see it (I am in the military currently and had a Power of Attorney take care of the transaction after inspection) and its got an awful knock. Upon further investigation I see just under 1/4" lateral play in the crankshaft pulley.

WOW! So my assumption is, I have worn crankshaft bushings and a bad thrust plate= new motor or complete rebuild. It is a Jasper Crate. I am an aircraft mechanic with minimal experience with vehicles that don't leave the Earth's surface. I do have a father with moderate Car mechanics background and we are both mechanically inclined. My question to all you fine gentleman, and ladies I'm sure, is where the heck do I begin? I have been trying to find some built 302W's online. Most of these are advertised as race motors. What I need is a well built (reliable parts) hydraulic roller motor. I have an oversized intake manifold, oversized throttle body, aftermarket air filter and exhaust, 4.56 gears in front and rear on 35"s. I'm assuming whatever other accessories I could pull off this other motor that don't come with the new. I need a daily for when I get out of the service and am back home going to school and working full time. Can someone please answer these few questions I have thus far:

1) Where should I get an assembled motor that isn't built with cheap parts?

2) What can I expect to pay for such a motor?

3) Should I expect to have to swap many other parts or can I just yank the old motor out, swap some accessories and put the new motor in?