Topic Sponsor

oil pressure question!!

Old 10-14-2012, 09:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default oil pressure question!!

I just bought my first f150 about 2 weeks ago. Its a 93 with the 5.0 extended cab, manual tranny, 2 wheel drive. 153k on motor. Needs a few odds and ends, so far ive done a starter, general tune up (plugs, wires, oil and air filter)

When i got the truck my oil pressure seemed a little low on the dash gage. My brother just got rid of his flairside with the 5.0 in it and he said it was about right when he looked at it. Today pressure dropped between the n and o. Shortly after the "check engine" light came on for about 5ish seconds then went off. Now i am no mechanic but i no enough to get by and this dosnt seem normal. Anyone have any ideas??

I will be throwing on a mechanical gage asap, what should the pressure read when hot??
Old 10-14-2012, 10:09 PM
Ford junky

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The gauge on your truck is more of just an indicator if you have pressure rather than the exact science. A mechanical gauge will be your best source for an accurate reading.
Old 10-14-2012, 10:15 PM

Originally Posted by Never_Evil
The gauge on your truck is more of just an indicator if you have pressure rather than the exact science. A mechanical gauge will be your best source for an accurate reading.
What should the pressure be???
Old 10-20-2012, 10:03 PM

Sorry, don't know what the pressure should be. But make sure you check your oil pressure sending unit. Mine went bad and it did the same thing.
Old 10-20-2012, 10:31 PM
Ford Tech

Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts

Oil pressure hot @ 2k rpms should be between 40-60psi.
Old 10-21-2012, 09:53 AM

Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts