Topic Sponsor

AHH what the heck is going on?!?! 91 F150 w/ 351

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2012, 06:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AHH what the heck is going on?!?! 91 F150 w/ 351

So here is my dilemma....
I just bought a truck 3 months ago. A 1991 F 150 Lariat Ext Cab, Ext. Bed w/ 351 V8 engine, automatic Trans with 4X4 and the odometer reads 33,127. When I bought it, it wasn't running like a top but it idled fine, drove pretty good, for a 20 yr truck it was in reasonable condition I thought. However, there was a noticeable amount of dried oil seepage from the valve cover gasket area on both sides. My belief was it really just needed to have the fluids flushed and changed, plugs, wires, "the basic" tune-up and I thought I would need to replace the valve cover gaskets sooner than later. Well I am just starting to learn about working on vehicles so I have pretty much no tools to even work on a car and even less of a clear idea of what to do if I had the right tool to begin with. So I brought it in...

I asked for a coolant flush, new plugs, new wires, oil change, 2 new tires (which where both installed on the driver’s side??), new PCV and that’s it. I got all those (so they claim...the coolant flush was missing on the bill) and without talking to me they added: a distributer, coil pack, fuel filter, air filter, belt, and R-134 refrigerant (the compressor clearly states "use only R12 refrigerant".

Since I’ve gotten it back the following is happening: