Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Ford F150 Forums > Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation > Lighting
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Rigid dully hds

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2015, 06:14 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Rigid dully hds

I want to wire my rigid lights with my high beams but I don't want to cut into the OEM harness. I have a backup light harness from rigid
kbehr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 06:17 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
AricsFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denton Texas
Posts: 3,005
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Thanked 372 Times in 275 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Default

In that case you just need to splice the white wire in the backup kit to the high beam wire.
__________________
2011 FX2 -- Stanced' and Rigids for days
2011 BMW 328i

my build-
http://www.f150forum.com/f78/arics-f...-build-261040/
AricsFX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 06:36 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Ik I could just splice in but I don't want to cut up the OEM truck harness I was wondering if there was any other way to make it more OEM looking. Like a fuse tap or redo a plug to have an extra wire for the signal wire
kbehr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 12:17 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
AricsFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denton Texas
Posts: 3,005
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Thanked 372 Times in 275 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Default

My LED DRL tubes are wired into my factory harness and you wouldn't even be able to tell. just do a good job with it and take your time, its one wire.
__________________
2011 FX2 -- Stanced' and Rigids for days
2011 BMW 328i

my build-
http://www.f150forum.com/f78/arics-f...-build-261040/
AricsFX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 05:20 PM   #5
Official Bass Slapper
 
Jeriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Get male and female H13 ends, wire up a quick connect "splice" in between the harness and the light, then using the high beam wire to fire the relay of the rigids? Only need to put the jumper in on one side, so it'll be easy removal and you wouldn't even be able to tell it was there if/when you remove it.

That's what I'd do, but I'm kinda **** about clean installs.
__________________
2013 F150 XTR 4X4 EcoBoost SCrew Blue Flame 157" - 3.73 MaxTow, Retro'd tow mirrors, Raptor 3rd brake light, Roll'N'Lock bed cover
Plans for AAL, new tires, more lights, HID retrofit
Jeriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 05:32 PM   #6
FX4RoadWarrior
 
tanked_darren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Thanked 136 Times in 112 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Well I know for a fact you can fuse tap LED lights into the high beams in a GM truck 2007-2014, we got one at work with 2 done exactly that way. I'm sure it is just as easy in a Ford, but I never looked.

Look in the fuse box under the hood.

I too do not like hacking into wiring.
__________________
2014 F-150 FX4 SuperCrew
3.5L Ecoboost
6'5" Box, Appearance Package, Max Tow
Linex, Rigid SRM Back-up Light Kit
tanked_darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 09:28 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

on our jeeps the fuse for the driving lights is a 3 prong fuse. we can cut one of the prongs off and it will allow the fog/driving lights to stay on when the high beams are on.

i was only able to do this by following directions, there is no way i'd figure that one out on my own, 'tricity and i don't get along, so i only do very simple, and i mean very simple, electrical projects.

anyone know if we can accomplish this, keeping the fogs on with the high beams, by a simple snip???

Last edited by madduck; 02-17-2015 at 09:46 AM.
madduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 09:28 AM
 
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.