Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Towing Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2014, 10:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Towing Question

So I was watching the Daytona 500 commercials and started wondering....I am new to 4 wheel drive and have a F150 XLT and my question is ....

If I am towing to the max pulling wt. do I put it in two wheel drive where all the work is done in the rear or do I put it in four wheel drive and divide the work between the two drive trains? Just an inexperienced thought
Old 02-24-2014, 12:39 AM

Received 86 Likes on 66 Posts

On asphalt, tow in 2wd. The drive train can handle it. you would be more prone to wear out your transfer case in 4wd.
Old 02-24-2014, 12:42 AM
I Like Tires

Received 248 Likes on 214 Posts

Only use 4wd when you need it. Not advisable on asphalt. Obviously if it's going to make the difference in you staying on the road and flying into the embankment because of bad weather you should use it, but at a very reduced speed.
Old 02-24-2014, 08:15 AM

Received 204 Likes on 178 Posts

Whether towing or not, your XLT's 4-wheel drive is only for "part-time" use on very slippery roads. Think off-road and deep snow, definitely not on dry asphalt.

The Lariat model and above 4x4's come with a "full-time" 4x4 mode that you can use in partially slippery or dry conditions. But, not sure, if there's a fixed power split between front and rear axles. Have heard it's a very fast clutch pack that switches in the front drive when needed. For towing, I would stick to 2 wheel drive unless things get slippery.
Old 02-24-2014, 10:06 AM
for fastening fabric

Received 152 Likes on 117 Posts

u have 1 "drive train". when u are in 2 wheel drive, power is only sent to ur rear wheels. when ur in 4 wheel drive, some stuff clicks and magic happens and power is sent to both front and rear wheels.