Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Towing With An Ecoboost 4x4 Crew Cab

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2013, 01:49 PM
Resident Piñata

Received 25 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Towing With An Ecoboost 4x4 Crew Cab

Towing With An Ecoboost 4x4 Crew Cab

I pulled a 23’ 6,500 lb. travel trailer all across the U.S. with a 2012 Crew Cab 4x4 Ecoboost. I traveled from California to the East Coast across I-40 to Tennessee and North Carolina and then down through the South, Florida, New Orleans and home again on the so boring I-10. I promised to give a report on how the Ecoboost performed for those interested in how it compares to towing with a diesel.

I’ve been pulling travel trailers for 45 years so I know a thing or two about them both 5th wheel and ball & hitch type. I’ve pulled the same size trailer with both the Dodge Cummins and the Chevy Duramax, as well as Ford 460 C.I.D. big block gasoline engines, so I can offer a good comparison. First of all, I was running and Edge Programmer on the 87 octane economy setting that gives the 3.5L Ecoboost another 50+/- H.P. It has plenty of power in all situations and I only had one short “Ecoboost Stumble” incident in the rain. On an earlier trip on the Coast of Oregon in the rain it stumbled so badly I had to pull over to the shoulder and restart it.