Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Towing and drivetrain all trims equal??

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2017, 01:10 AM

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

Default Towing and drivetrain all trims equal??

Let's say a F 150 late model base or loaded all have the same frame and braking system only difference is the engine and axle ratios . Transmission is same as well correct ? So from a handling and stopping point aren't all trims about equal
.?? The big difference is how fast you get up to speed

I am not advocateing overloading from a safety point . What I am getting at is sometimes I go over my tow rating of my truck but not more than another f150 trim level . This being the case what is the down side as far as the truck goes .
Please no flaming , I just want thoughtful answers . I have been towing and hauling stuff for over 30 years.
Old 02-13-2017, 06:29 AM

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts

The differences between base or loaded is the options. These options (power seats/moon roof/heated+cooled seats/running boards/tailgate step/etc... add weight and subtract from the payload and tow rating. Wheel and tire size also add to or subtract from the tow rating.

As to: "...what is the downside as far as the truck goes." (as you put it referring to exceeding those limits) is that you are exceeding the maximum rating given by the manufacturer for your truck with it's unique options. One could argue that exceeding those maximums will affect longevity but it will also affect the ability of the vehicle to handle/stop/whatever...If you get into an accident overloaded causing bodily harm or death while your vehicle is overloaded the consequences will likely be very severe and any argument about what another vehicle's capability is will not be heard.
The following users liked this post:
Ricktwuhk (02-13-2017)
Old 02-13-2017, 07:18 AM

Received 209 Likes on 169 Posts