Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Towing another vehicle

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2015, 10:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Towing another vehicle

I've never tried this before but in a couple of weeks I'll be going for a 12 hour drive through long mountain passes with a car hauler trailer.

On it will be a 2003 GMC Safari van.
The trailer itself is Big Tex double axle, all steel.
Pretty much this one, except green and a little older.
http://bigtextrailers.com/70dm-tande...ck-car-hauler/

I'm roughly putting the combined weight of just over 6200 lbs.

I've got the 5.0L and 3.73.

Your thoughts?
Old 02-16-2015, 11:49 PM
Wyatt

Received 163 Likes on 136 Posts

Just a good weight distribution hitch with sway control, and keep it under 65mph. Should be a drama free ride. That F150 won't break a sweat!
Old 02-17-2015, 02:00 AM
Official Bass Slapper

Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts

+1 on keeping the speed down. Don't do anything drastic and it'll treat you right.

I took a similar trip a couple years ago through the Rocky's from BC to Alberta, picked up my bro's dead jeep. He pooched the transmission and I didn't feel like a field repair 6 hours from home, so I grabbed the trailer, went out to get him and had a worry free ride home. 2200 for the trailer, 4500 for the beefy *** jeep (95 cherokee on 35's + massive sound system). Was fairly uneventful.
Old 02-17-2015, 10:23 AM

Received 166 Likes on 127 Posts

Short open car-hauler trailers are easy to tow. No enclosed sides to produce sway and at only 18/20ft long is an easy train to manage. I would however ensure you plan to use weight distribution otherwise you'll experience some significant rear squat (not to mention be outside of the towing specifications).
Old 02-17-2015, 11:56 AM
Wyatt

Received 163 Likes on 136 Posts

^Once you use a WDH....you never go without-period.
Old 02-17-2015, 05:25 PM