Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Towing about 7000 pounds

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2013, 09:32 AM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Default Towing about 7000 pounds

Hi everyone,

I'm a novice when it comes to towing and have never towed anything over 2000 pounds. My truck is a 98 f150 4x4 with the 4.6L. My other truck is a 97 and is pretty much the same truck which is what I will be towing to a shop that's about 5 miles away. I'm assuming the truck weighs close to 6000 pounds. The trailer I am planning on renting to transport it is a 22ft car trailer which I would think weighs around 1000 pounds. The trailer only has a 4 pin connector no brakes and I do not have a wdh hitch but I was hoping as long as the truck is centered on the trailer my tongue weight won't be terrible. Just need to know if this will be okay to transport 5miles.

My second question is I'm planning on driving 70 miles up state to tow home a 1988 ford ranger. With this same setup. But this truck weighs a lot less then my 150. So will I be okay towing 5000 pounds 70 miles home with this setup. I really appreciate any advice thanks.

Zach
Old 11-15-2013, 12:39 PM

Received 281 Likes on 217 Posts

Although it has been done before without, you are well above the limit that requires a WDH.

In addition I think you will find that there will not be much room to move the truck back and forth that will actually make a big difference in tongue weight. Most trucks have the bulk of their weight toward the front when empty. I do not think you will be able to move the truck far enough back to significantly alter the tongue weight with that in mind.

Finally that much weight without trailer brakes is not good. You will see immensely reduced braking.

That being said 5 miles is not far and it is your call. My thought is you are very poorly set up for this. Why not just land tow it?