Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Some towing help

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2015, 08:44 PM

Received 231 Likes on 164 Posts

Default Some towing help

I have plenty of experience towing smaller trailers with the f150 and large trailers pulled with an f350 all with no weight distribution systems.

Trailer I am looking at pulling is a 27' enclosed cargo trailer with a gross loaded weight of 9500lbs. I have a eco with Max tow and payload capacity of 1,700lbs. I figure my tongue weight to be 1000lbs-1150lbs.

This is the hitch I am looking at is a Reese distribution with sway control.
http://www.etrailer.com/Weight-Distr...e/RP66088.html

Does anyone have any experience with this hitch and any feedback they can provide on it?
Old 03-17-2015, 09:18 PM

Received 221 Likes on 178 Posts

Can't give you info on the Reese - I have an Equal-i-zer.

However, your tongue weight is going to be right up at the max your hitch receiver can handle.

Crawl down under your rear bumper and look up - you should see a sticker with the hitch rating limit weights. I believe that with the Max Tow you'll see that it says for a WDH the limits are 11500/1150, i.e., the max tongue weight the hitch receiver can handle is 1150 lbs. Standard tow package is 10500/1050.

The hitch head for your WDH will probably weigh 50 to 75 lbs, so that leaves you a max of 1100 lbs remaining that your hitch receiver can handle for the tongue weight of the trailer.

If you have the max allowable 1150 lbs on the hitch receiver, subtract that from your payload capacity and you've got 550 lbs for people and cargo in the cab and bed - so 3 normal size people and a little bit of luggage in the cab/bed and you're maxed out.

BTW, if you've added any mods to the truck since it was built (bed liner, tonneau, etc.) subtract their weights from the payload capacity as well - they'll reduce your usable payload.