Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie here to the forum. Brake controller 2010 STX

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2017, 04:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here to the forum. Brake controller 2010 STX

Hello all, Just bought a Toy hauler trailer, Grey Wolf 22RR. Have a 2010 STX with factory 4 prong plug. Is the truck set up for plug and play to add a brake controller or do I have to wire it? Also would greatly appreciate any advice on a controller to buy. Thank you..
Old 02-05-2017, 10:58 PM

Received 158 Likes on 134 Posts

do u have the 7 pin down there as well? is it th 4.6 or the 5.4? also what the yellow door jamb sticker say? ( total payload limit)
Old 02-08-2017, 04:03 PM
F150 Forum

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

Since your truck came with a 4-Way flat trailer connector, installing a brake controller will involve using a custom brake controller wiring adapter and making some wiring connections yourself.

This article talks about installing the brake controller on your vehicle and includes some helpful installation videos: http://www.etrailer.com/expert-20.html
Old 02-08-2017, 04:11 PM

Received 46 Likes on 31 Posts

Originally Posted by etrailerTeam
Since your truck came with a 4-Way flat trailer connector, installing a brake controller will involve using a custom brake controller wiring adapter and making some wiring connections yourself.

This article talks about installing the brake controller on your vehicle and includes some helpful installation videos: http://www.etrailer.com/expert-20.html
Incorrect.

A thread like this comes up every now and then.

On my truck it came with only a 4 pin connector and no hitch. Obviously no tow package either.