Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to Towing need advice

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2014, 10:25 PM

Received 81 Likes on 75 Posts

Default New to Towing need advice

Hey guys been a member for a while and have never needed to use my truck to tow anything until now. Now I am new to towing and am a little confused on how much my truck can safely tow. My wife and I are looking to start a business and this will involve towing a 32' Enclosed trailer. Here is the break down of my truck and some specs of the trailer.

Truck

2012 F150 Crew FX4
3.73 gears
tow package (tow hitch and brake controller)

Sticker on the inside of my door reads

GVWR - 7350LB
Rear GAWR 3850LB

Trailer

Weighs just under 8000Lbs
800-1000LBS Tongue Weight
32' V Nose Enclosed Trailer
4' Tongue
5200# Torsion Tanden Axels

When I do tow the truck will be empty aside from myself (140lbs) and 1 other person probably my wife (105lbs). It will also be towed around the city so probably 30-50 mile trips at a time.

I have tried to research this but am getting mixed information. So I figured I would get you guys thoughts on it. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks for the help in advance. If you need any other information please let me know, thanks.
Old 04-30-2014, 11:03 PM
Flatlander

Received 283 Likes on 197 Posts

Likely won't be a popular answer, but were it me, I probably wouldn't give it a second thought and just hook and go for what you're using it for. The only thing I might look twice at is the overall length. Big tail, little dog. If it's not a good fit, you'll know pretty quickly. Watch your RAWR and hitch capacity and keep your trailer brakes in good shape.
Old 04-30-2014, 11:06 PM

Received 221 Likes on 178 Posts

Well....you need more info about your truck!!