Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New member tow questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2013, 11:53 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default New member tow questions

I am about to pull the trigger for an F150 Eco-boost, crew cab, short box 4 x 4 this spring.
I am new to the pickup truck world, so a little background might help set up my questions.
I have a 2003 GMC Envoy with a tow capacity of 5700lbs. I have used this to successfully tow a Coleman Bayside pop-up camper in the Colorado high country. However, it does really have to go all out at altitude and I think is a bit over taxed as is.
I have just purchased a new Trailmanor 2922KD folding trailer which is about 900lbs heavier than the Coleman with a much heavier tongue weight (435lbs vs 160lbs).
I suspect the trailer loaded will be 4000 to 5000 lbs and the tongue weight could be over 500lbs, but those would be max. Trailer empty is about 3000 lbs with about 1350lbs additional to be added.
So with this in mind I have these questions:
I would order the truck with the max tow package (with the 3.73 rear end). This seems to give me the best chance to not have issues towing in the high country. I had wanted the off road package, but that limits the rear end to 3.55, and less robust shocks (maybe?, not sure reading forum). I also considered the heavy duty package, but my understanding is that is only available on the long box, which is darn near too long for my garage.
I guess I am really asking for reasons to pick either the off road package or heavy duty package instead of max tow.
I would appreciate folks experiences with these options and rationale for their choices.
I am somewhat concerned about a heavy tongue weight and what that might do for ride and handling.
Thanks in advance for your insights and wading through this long post
Mark
Old 02-14-2013, 01:08 PM

Received 204 Likes on 178 Posts