Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lowered Truck Towing Question's: Hitch Height

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2016, 06:34 PM

Received 38 Likes on 31 Posts
Default Lowered Truck Towing Question's: Hitch Height

Throwing 3/5-6 drop on my 06 FX4.
5.4, 3.55's, tow package, 7700lb payload and all that junk. I know the limits of the truck, not asking for advice on towing, I'm a class A cdl driver and gross up to 80,000lb every day hauling rock and heavy equipment. And please do not criticize my choice of lowering a 4x4 pickup, I pay the payments so...

Truck will be sitting on 24x10's with a load rating of 2200lb per wheel(x4 is 8800lb so over payload, tires are 2500lb rated).

Main thing I tow is my 18ft open deck car hauler, 7k-lb tandem axles. Generally has two 4 wheelers and a side by side, or a Mustang/med size car. Heaviest thing is now going to be a turbo'ed Vortec Max ext cab Silverado(4200-4500lbs) Trailer Sits perfectly behind my stock height truck. With a 2 inch drop in the rear(removing factory blocks), I just turned my 2 inch drop hitch over, which gave me about 1.5 inches of lift of the ball. So still set pretty even.

Back of the truck is coming down 3-4 more inches, will be on bags too fyi, so would I be safe getting a 6 inch drop hitch and just turning it over? Do any of you guys do the same thing?

Thanks
Old 06-11-2016, 01:59 AM
JJM

Received 180 Likes on 136 Posts

I don't have this problem, but if I did, I'd be flipping a drop hitch to get the right ball height. They can be used like that with no ill-effect.
Old 06-11-2016, 04:08 PM
Grumpy Old Man

Location: Midland County Texas, just west of the star in my avatar
Received 879 Likes on 686 Posts

Originally Posted by boom50cal
Main thing I tow is my 18ft open deck car hauler, 7k-lb tandem axles. ...