Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I am missing something here?

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2016, 11:28 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default I am missing something here?

I am sorry this is going to be like reading a book, but I wanted to give you as much information as possible.

Two months ago I traded in my 2010 5.4 that I had used for towing my company trailer. I am an artist and sell my work around the country. I purchased a new 2016 5.0 w/ 3.31 2 wheel drive sport. I didn't need the 4wd of the 2010 like before since I spend my winters in Florida.

But here is the thing. When I was looking at the specs. the 5.0 had more horsepower, torque, than the 5.4 so I figured that the 2016 would be a breeze. I do not know what the 2010 gear ratio was but at 70 it was under 2000 rpm and I was averaging about 15mpg. But that is total mpg, not just when I was towing. The 2010 also pulled the same trailer 150,000 miles and you really didn't notice it was there unless you had a head wind. But with the 16 it seems to struggle pulling it. It's like I need to really punch it to get it up to speed when I am merging into traffic on the highway. And so far I am averaging about 12mpg. I drive the 2016 the same way I did with the 10. Tow/haul, no cruise control, and about 70-75mph. Although I did seem to run the 10 between 70-80 more often. The trailer loaded is probably 2-3000lbs. it is an enclosed 5x10 v-nose utility trailer, with brakes. It also is about 10" taller than the cap on the back of the truck. So I know Aerodynamics is a bit of an issue, but not really all that much more than the 2010.