Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How ti scale trailer

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2015, 10:33 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How ti scale trailer

I'm new to towing. When I take my truck and trailer to a truck scale, exactly how do I measure the various axle weights? My rig is much shorter than a tractor trailer?

I'm sure there's an easy answer that escapes me now.

Thanks.
Old 04-13-2015, 12:50 PM

Received 129 Likes on 107 Posts

I recommend going inside first to tell them that you are going to weigh your rig three times. It costs about $10 for the first weigh and about $2 for each additional weigh. You can go ahead and pay for all three, but if you do, get a receipt. But if there is a personnel change during your three weighs, you may have a problem explaining what is going on to the second person, so hang on to that receipt. DAMHIK. I find it easier to pay for each weight pass each time and just go inside and get the ticket each time when you pay.

There will be three pads on the scale. Put the truck front wheels on the first, the truck rear wheels on the second and the trailer wheels on the third. It's not difficult to do.

Weighing the first time:
Each time across the scale, you will have to get out of the truck to reach up really high to push the button to call the inside person to the squawk box. It will be really noisy there, so you have to shout to be heard and it will be difficult to hear the inside person. Tell them that you are weighing Unit # (Make up a number, I say "Unit # 1"). Ask them to let you get back in the truck before they take the weight.

Weighing the second time: