Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help! Travel Trailer or Lightweight 5th wheel?

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2013, 12:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Help! Travel Trailer or Lightweight 5th wheel?

Wet behind the Ears Newbie here... Was hoping to purchase a light fifth wheel camper in the next year. I thought that I did my homework when purchasing a new truck. However, it is quickly becoming clear that I was not nearly thorough enough... and believed the salesman too much! Having second thoughts now.We were leaning toward a F250. Dealer convinced us we would be happier with the ecoboost for towing.

At any rate, we ordered a beautiful F150 Lariat Crewcab with HD payload package and max towing. Though we love everything else about the truck, I am getting nervous now that I am switching gears and closely comparing 5th wheel tongue weights with our truck's ratings... Pulled a 30 foot gooseneck horse trailer with a F250 for many miles years ago. I loved the stability with the gooseneck set up. Definitely do not want to deal with sway.

I have been waffling back and forth between narrowing to a lightweight TT with Hensley type hitch... but keep coming back to the idea of a 5th wheel (and liking it better!). Husband uses truck for moving plywood, etc. If we go with the fifth, we will invest in a B & W Companion 5th that can free up the bed b/w tows.

As you all know, these are huge investments. We have saved for years, and want to get this as "right" as possible - and keep it safe! We hope to travel extensively in the west, including mountains, windy conditions, etc.

Here are the stats that I have on our new truck:

F150 Lariat CrewCab 4 x 4 Actual weight: 5640
GVWR: 8200 GCWR: 17,100
HD Pay load: 2,310 capacity
Max trailer towing: 11,100
RGAWR: 4,800
FGAW 4,100