Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Camping cargo Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-29-2016, 01:23 PM

Received 195 Likes on 153 Posts

Default Camping cargo Question

I have a lot of experience towing, I operated a recovery vehicle in the Army, drove a wrecker, driven a Tractor-trailer a few times, pulled many cars on flat beds.
I have never owned a camping travel trailer. I have only ever used a Pop-up style unit a couple of time. My wife and I want to get a travel trailer and I was wondering what is a good estimation of the weight of the gear you haul in a camper for a couple and two or three grandkids? I am not talking about bicycles and toys, I am talking about cookware, plates, drinking glasses, blankets and other necessities. I am aware it can vary, especially cookware, like cast iron versus aluminum, but I would like something to get me started so I can properly choose the size/weight of a camping trailer.

By the way, I like the floor plan of the Startcraft Launch Ultralite 26BHS and it has a 520 tongue weight.

Last edited by SKBORDERS; 02-29-2016 at 01:50 PM.
Old 02-29-2016, 01:58 PM

Received 139 Likes on 92 Posts

I'm relatively new to trailers as well, just got my first trailer a year ago. I was very worried about a lot of things, including this very same question.

For me and my wife, with "mostly" full tanks, My trailer is about 1000 lbs over the dry weight. It has a dry weight of 5000 odd pounds, and a GVWR of 7000 odd.

I'd say a "good guess" for most people is going to be about the same.

It does depend though, some people carry a lot of stuff with them.
The following users liked this post:
SKBORDERS (03-04-2016)
Old 02-29-2016, 02:07 PM

I am going to try to not carry water unless I have to, and then just enough to get me there. I don't plan on camping without service, so I can get water when I get there.
Old 03-01-2016, 02:04 AM