2015 Integrated Trailer Brake Controller malfunction? - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Ford F150 Forums > Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing
Log In 


2015 Integrated Trailer Brake Controller malfunction?

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-24-2015, 09:44 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default 2015 Integrated Trailer Brake Controller malfunction?

Morning all.
I have a 2015 F150 Lariat with max tow package that I just used to tow my 4k loaded camper. The camper has electric brakes.
When plugged in, the truck doesn't acknowledge the brakes or the trailer. When I adjust the gain, a screen pops up saying "Trailer Brake Gain: x.x No Trailer"
I thought maybe it just wasn't detecting the trailer at all, but the lights work, signals and brake. I cleaned the contacts and plugged it back in but it still says no trailer. As I drive, I can manually squeeze the brake controller and it'll actuate the brakes on the camper--BUT the dash will say "Trailer Disconnected".

Yesterday, after trying to troubleshoot the issue, I noticed the dash saying that I was towing a trailer when I was definitely not. On the towing screen, it said I had put 7 miles of towing on this trailer, and counting. I tried to get it to "disconnect" from the trailer but restarting the truck but it didn't work until I squeezed the trailer brake controller.

Am I missing something?? This truck only has 5k miles and already getting screwy on me.
ddlaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Join F150 Forum

Join F150Forum.com Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you a Ford F150 fan? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Ford F150 Fans to meet online.
Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your truck, and have a great time with other Ford F150 fans. Whether your an old timer or just bought your F150 you'll find that F150Forum.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join F150Forum.com Today! - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


-->
Old 07-24-2015, 10:06 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 829
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanked 118 Times in 95 Posts
Default

That doesn't sound right. This should not happen and it isn't anything that you are doing (or not doing). I'd take this puppy in for a look at the dealer. It should be as simple as plugging in the trailer and disconnecting the trailer.
__________________

2012 Race Red FX4 Ecoboost
Luxury Pkg, Max Tow Pkg
Retrax Pro, Black Luverne Nerfs
Amp Research Step
acadianbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 05:33 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just bought a new 2015 F 150 lariat super crew 4x2 with 2.7 ecoboost and trailer tow package. I then bought a new travel trailer and went through the setup and the dash showed t"trailer Connected. As soon as I put it in gear and started to move the dash message was Trailer Disconnected. I put the trailer on a 2012, 2013, and a 2014 f 150 same configuration for towing and it worked fine. I then when at the dealership connected to a brand new truck identical to mine and had the same problem. The dealership has run codes with "no code" shown. They ran the setup of the module and it has the latest and greatest update. They are going through the hotline now and engineers to see if they can find the problem. Have you heard of this and if so WHAT. The trailer brakes and lights all work correctly. I can manually apply the trailer brake with the trailer brake control. Further I went to the trailer dealer and connected to the same model trailer and got the same results "trailer disconnect" as soon as it started to tow. I am very frustrated as I want to go on a trip but it does not see and charge my trailer battery and I have no sway control since it doesn't see the trailer. Obviously I don't have your answer but your problem seems similar to mine as far it the trailer disconnect aspect.
joemieh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 10:11 AM   #4
True North Strong & Free
 
Norotso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SK, CDN
Posts: 308
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanked 32 Times in 29 Posts
Default

I believe in the 15s there is a fuse that needs to be installed under the dash in a side fuse box....
__________________
2012 EB F150 XTR 6.5 Maxtow 7700GVWR, 1700# payload and lots of goodies.....
2012 F150 & 2008 Jayco 23FB
The border between Canada & the USA is a typical human creation. It is physically invisible, geographically illogical, militarily indefensible and emotionally inescapable. Hughe Kingsley
Norotso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 10:25 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

No fuse or relay in my glovebox. Service guy at the dealer told me to look for the fuse and relay in my glovebox but there's only one bag for the rear camera plug.

He also told me to go through all the fuses. I did that, there is 1 trailer brake related fuse under the passenger kickpanel, and 3 trailer brake related fuses under the hood fuse box. All are fine. Off topic - Ford doesn't even include a fuse puller in their fuse boxes... i had to go grab my pliers. If there is one..it's not in either of the fuse boxes.


One thing I read about the 2015 is that there is no fuse or relay to install but it is performed through the dash trailer setup pages. You're supposed to connect the trailer, go to add new trailer, and go through the setup. I haven't tried that yet.

I checked the pins with a multimeter and got 2-3 VDC from ground to the light pins, nothing at the constant power pin. I'm going to assume that the voltage will rise to 12v+ when the truck senses a trailer. The 2-3VDC is just a trigger voltage to get things going.
ddlaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 12:25 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Just tried the setup procedure and didn't do anything.
ddlaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 01:06 PM   #7
True North Strong & Free
 
Norotso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SK, CDN
Posts: 308
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanked 32 Times in 29 Posts
Default

Is there any other info in the manual?
__________________
2012 EB F150 XTR 6.5 Maxtow 7700GVWR, 1700# payload and lots of goodies.....
2012 F150 & 2008 Jayco 23FB
The border between Canada & the USA is a typical human creation. It is physically invisible, geographically illogical, militarily indefensible and emotionally inescapable. Hughe Kingsley
Norotso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 01:20 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Nope. Just tell me what button does what. Nothing to do with fuses or relays. Nothing about the setup procedure either.
ddlaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 03:25 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have absolutely the same problem. I have 2015 Lariat 4x4 with tow package (not max) with integrated break controller. Absolutely the same situation as described in initial post. The same messages and need to apply brakes manually and I DO hear they are working!!!!

I hooked up my TrailManor trailer back to my SUV 2005 Nissan Xterra where it was originally used with Prodigy brake controller. No problem at all - everything working perfectly. I hooked it up to my neighbor's F-250 2012 or 2013 - NO problem. I did replaced 7-pin connector on the trailer and did bring it to local trailer service company to check - NO PROBLEM.

I did bring my truck to local dealer in Concord, CA - they did not see any problem with the truck but did not want me to bring the trailer due to lack of parking space even having space on parking lot available for 200 trucks :-( MF They are good to bolt parts not to solve problems. I did bring the truck to dealership where I got it. With the trailer of course. The hooked the trailer to another 2015 F-150 and ... the same error messages.

I have appointment there for next week ... will see what happened.

Last edited by igkir; 07-30-2015 at 03:28 AM.
igkir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 09:18 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Good to hear I'm not the only one!
I've got an appointment next tuesday.
He said it'd be 100 bucks to diagnose unless it was a real problem.
ddlaz is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My New 2015 and Initial Thoughts FlatBlack XD 2015 - Present Ford F150 15 01-28-2016 08:36 PM
Texas: 2012 F150 FX4 Ecoboost - Loaded OptimiStick 2009 - 2014 Truck Sales 2 10-07-2015 06:09 PM
Paint Chips on 2015 F-150 Aluminum Body tones55 General F150 Discussion 45 09-28-2015 04:40 PM
New 2014 F150 XLT owner - Upgrade options kellarfl 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 1 09-03-2015 12:46 PM
Aftermarket Brake Controller? Does it still require Ford dealer to activate? ChicagoJim 2015 - Present Ford F150 3 09-02-2015 05:20 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.