How To: SCT Livelink Datalog - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



How To: SCT Livelink Datalog

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-30-2013, 02:40 PM   #1
better looking than geno
Thread Starter
 
CoreyMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central Mississippi
Posts: 1,374
Thanked 271 Times in 169 Posts
Default

WORK IN PROGRESS


IF YOUR NOT DATALOGGING, HOW DO YOU KNOW YOUR TRUCK IS RUNNING RIGHT?



I get a lot of questions about this and it's time everyone knows how. Datalogging via the SCT Livelink program is pretty straight forward. It has a guide me function that shows you what to do, but once you've done it a couple times you realize it's not hard. This first post will show how to setup the datalogging via a laptop connected in the vehicle. I generally do not follow the guide me functions, it is just redundant.


To start, download SCT Livelink Gen II
http://www.sctflash.com/software/LiveLink_GenII.exe

Some functions can be done with the X3/SF3 connected to the computer without the vehicle, we will continue to that later.

So, you have your laptop connected via USB cable to the SCT device and the SCT device connected to your OBD-II port. Lets try to connect it. Turn the key on, OR start the vehicle.





Click "check communications". Once it connects it should look like that.

IF you are having a problem communicating disconnect everything, the SCT from the truck, the USB from the computer and the SCT, then reconnect it all and try again.
Also, in bad cases you may need to restart your computer. The drivers should install when you connect it. If you can update your tunes via "SCT Device Updater" then you should have all the drivers.

Once you get communications, Click "Vehicle Info"



If this is your first time, "Validate all PID's". Then "Select Items".





------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Since we are limited here on how many pictures per thread, multiple posts will be needed.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------





.

Last edited by CoreyMS; 07-30-2013 at 11:42 PM.
CoreyMS is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to CoreyMS For This Useful Post:
57hippie (07-31-2013), Heishman (07-31-2013), scap99 (07-30-2013)
Old 07-30-2013, 02:41 PM   #2
better looking than geno
Thread Starter
 
CoreyMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central Mississippi
Posts: 1,374
Thanked 271 Times in 169 Posts
Default

Here is a series of pictures of the items available.









Last edited by CoreyMS; 07-30-2013 at 02:49 PM.
CoreyMS is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to CoreyMS For This Useful Post:
57hippie (07-31-2013), albertschmitz (08-11-2013), Heishman (07-31-2013)
Old 07-30-2013, 02:41 PM   #3
better looking than geno
Thread Starter
 
CoreyMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central Mississippi
Posts: 1,374
Thanked 271 Times in 169 Posts
Default

Now you select your items to log.

I have created a configuration file to make this easy, we will get to that soon.

Next, click "Configure Datalog"



The logging screen will come up. To start logging click the "start" button.



To "Stop"



If you start a second one, it will prompt you to save your datalog. Alternatively, you can click the file tab top left and go to save as, and select datalog.

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ____________________

For ease of having to select your parameters I have created this Configuration file.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/.../ECOconfig.cf4

To load a configuration file,



If it asks to merge this configuration with what is already selected click no.

Last edited by CoreyMS; 07-30-2013 at 03:01 PM.
CoreyMS is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to CoreyMS For This Useful Post:
albertschmitz (08-11-2013), bayourunner (08-10-2013), Heishman (07-31-2013), WAY BAD (08-15-2013)
Old 07-30-2013, 02:55 PM   #4
better looking than geno
Thread Starter
 
CoreyMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central Mississippi
Posts: 1,374
Thanked 271 Times in 169 Posts
Default Stand Alone, NO LAPTOP HOWTO

Now, what if you don't have a laptop but you still want to datalog. The X3/SF3 has this ability, but the normal files that come with it are worthless on the Eco. Bring your device to your computer and load Livelink. You will need to load this configuration file, just as before. The difference is to be able to do this on device, the max number of parameters is 20. So I made a different configuration for you.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/.../DLFConfig.cf4

Load this configuration. Now, we need to Export a DLF file to our device.





Now you should be able to use the device alone to datalog, then return to the computer and Import the data, button just under export DLF.

Last edited by CoreyMS; 07-30-2013 at 07:21 PM.
CoreyMS is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to CoreyMS For This Useful Post:
57hippie (07-31-2013), Heishman (07-31-2013), Reflections Detail (08-12-2013)
Old 07-30-2013, 03:08 PM   #5
better looking than geno
Thread Starter
 
CoreyMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central Mississippi
Posts: 1,374
Thanked 271 Times in 169 Posts
Default

How to Read.
CoreyMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 03:10 PM   #6
better looking than geno
Thread Starter
 
CoreyMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central Mississippi
Posts: 1,374
Thanked 271 Times in 169 Posts
Default

From here, you should be able to reply. I have a lot more to add but need to get some pictures ect together.
CoreyMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 03:31 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
StrawHatShinobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Spearfish, SD
Posts: 730
Thanked 99 Times in 74 Posts
Default

Thanks Corey, one thing I would like to add as I have been having this issue lately is, if you are not getting communication between the device and your laptop, I have found unplugging the device from both the laptop and the truck then giving it about 10 sec before plugging it back in has resolved this issue everytime. Rebooting occasionally has worked but this has never failed me.
StrawHatShinobi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 04:35 PM   #8
Rasslin
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 393
Thanked 100 Times in 60 Posts
Default

Please cross post on ecoboost performance forum, there's no limit to pictures or text there so it can be one post.
mtxpert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 05:47 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
timtoolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 316
Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
Default

perfect, thank you
timtoolman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 05:50 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
timtoolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 316
Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StrawHatShinobi View Post
Thanks Corey, one thing I would like to add as I have been having this issue lately is, if you are not getting communication between the device and your laptop, I have found unplugging the device from both the laptop and the truck then giving it about 10 sec before plugging it back in has resolved this issue everytime. Rebooting occasionally has worked but this has never failed me.

this is my issue to
timtoolman is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Southeast: Supercharged 2011 f150 XLT zander 2009 - 2014 Truck Sales 11 12-22-2015 02:37 PM
Canada: Sct 7015 x4 1994Vmax 2009 - 2014 Part Sales 13 10-19-2015 01:00 PM
Help me order some interior dash parts. MichaelInCalifornia 2015 - Present Ford F150 8 10-03-2015 01:48 AM
Southeast: Livewire TS For Sale Spider8408 2009 - 2014 Part Sales 3 09-30-2015 04:54 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com