Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 2009 - Present Ford F150 > 2011+ Engine Related Questions
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2013, 02:40 PM   #1
better looking than geno
 
CoreyMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central Mississippi
Posts: 1,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 270 Times in 169 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

WORK IN PROGRESS


IF YOUR NOT DATALOGGING, HOW DO YOU KNOW YOUR TRUCK IS RUNNING RIGHT?



I get a lot of questions about this and it's time everyone knows how. Datalogging via the SCT Livelink program is pretty straight forward. It has a guide me function that shows you what to do, but once you've done it a couple times you realize it's not hard. This first post will show how to setup the datalogging via a laptop connected in the vehicle. I generally do not follow the guide me functions, it is just redundant.


To start, download SCT Livelink Gen II
http://www.sctflash.com/software/LiveLink_GenII.exe

Some functions can be done with the X3/SF3 connected to the computer without the vehicle, we will continue to that later.

So, you have your laptop connected via USB cable to the SCT device and the SCT device connected to your OBD-II port. Lets try to connect it. Turn the key on, OR start the vehicle.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click "check communications". Once it connects it should look like that.

IF you are having a problem communicating disconnect everything, the SCT from the truck, the USB from the computer and the SCT, then reconnect it all and try again.
Also, in bad cases you may need to restart your computer. The drivers should install when you connect it. If you can update your tunes via "SCT Device Updater" then you should have all the drivers.

Once you get communications, Click "Vehicle Info"

Click the image to open in full size.

If this is your first time, "Validate all PID's". Then "Select Items".

Click the image to open in full size.



------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Since we are limited here on how many pictures per thread, multiple posts will be needed.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------





.

Last edited by CoreyMS; 07-30-2013 at 11:42 PM.
CoreyMS is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to CoreyMS For This Useful Post:
57hippie (07-31-2013), Heishman (07-31-2013), scap99 (07-30-2013)
Old 07-30-2013, 02:41 PM   #2
better looking than geno
 
CoreyMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central Mississippi
Posts: 1,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 270 Times in 169 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Here is a series of pictures of the items available.

Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.

Last edited by CoreyMS; 07-30-2013 at 02:49 PM.
CoreyMS is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to CoreyMS For This Useful Post:
57hippie (07-31-2013), albertschmitz (08-11-2013), Heishman (07-31-2013)
Old 07-30-2013, 02:41 PM   #3
better looking than geno
 
CoreyMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central Mississippi
Posts: 1,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 270 Times in 169 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Now you select your items to log.

I have created a configuration file to make this easy, we will get to that soon.

Next, click "Configure Datalog"

Click the image to open in full size.

The logging screen will come up. To start logging click the "start" button.

Click the image to open in full size.

To "Stop"

Click the image to open in full size.

If you start a second one, it will prompt you to save your datalog. Alternatively, you can click the file tab top left and go to save as, and select datalog.

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ____________________

For ease of having to select your parameters I have created this Configuration file.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/.../ECOconfig.cf4

To load a configuration file,

Click the image to open in full size.

If it asks to merge this configuration with what is already selected click no.

Last edited by CoreyMS; 07-30-2013 at 03:01 PM.
CoreyMS is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to CoreyMS For This Useful Post:
albertschmitz (08-11-2013), bayourunner (08-10-2013), Heishman (07-31-2013), WAY BAD (08-15-2013)
Old 07-30-2013, 02:55 PM   #4
better looking than geno
 
CoreyMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central Mississippi
Posts: 1,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 270 Times in 169 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Stand Alone, NO LAPTOP HOWTO

Now, what if you don't have a laptop but you still want to datalog. The X3/SF3 has this ability, but the normal files that come with it are worthless on the Eco. Bring your device to your computer and load Livelink. You will need to load this configuration file, just as before. The difference is to be able to do this on device, the max number of parameters is 20. So I made a different configuration for you.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/.../DLFConfig.cf4

Load this configuration. Now, we need to Export a DLF file to our device.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

Now you should be able to use the device alone to datalog, then return to the computer and Import the data, button just under export DLF.

Last edited by CoreyMS; 07-30-2013 at 07:21 PM.
CoreyMS is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to CoreyMS For This Useful Post:
57hippie (07-31-2013), Heishman (07-31-2013), Reflections Detail (08-12-2013)
Old 07-30-2013, 03:08 PM   #5
better looking than geno
 
CoreyMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central Mississippi
Posts: 1,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 270 Times in 169 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

How to Read.
CoreyMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 03:10 PM   #6
better looking than geno
 
CoreyMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central Mississippi
Posts: 1,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 270 Times in 169 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

From here, you should be able to reply. I have a lot more to add but need to get some pictures ect together.
CoreyMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 03:31 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
StrawHatShinobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Spearfish, SD
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanked 99 Times in 74 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Thanks Corey, one thing I would like to add as I have been having this issue lately is, if you are not getting communication between the device and your laptop, I have found unplugging the device from both the laptop and the truck then giving it about 10 sec before plugging it back in has resolved this issue everytime. Rebooting occasionally has worked but this has never failed me.
StrawHatShinobi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 04:35 PM   #8
Rasslin
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 97 Times in 57 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Please cross post on ecoboost performance forum, there's no limit to pictures or text there so it can be one post.
__________________
Mike B
Love cars but wrestling comes first!
2011 Black Cadillac CTS-V Coupe E85 Powered!
2013 Black Ford F-150 Ecoboost FX4
Previous owner of the highest HP Ecoboost vehicle on the planet! E85 powered, of course!
mtxpert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 05:47 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
timtoolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 29 Times in 21 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

perfect, thank you
timtoolman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 05:50 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
timtoolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 29 Times in 21 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StrawHatShinobi View Post
Thanks Corey, one thing I would like to add as I have been having this issue lately is, if you are not getting communication between the device and your laptop, I have found unplugging the device from both the laptop and the truck then giving it about 10 sec before plugging it back in has resolved this issue everytime. Rebooting occasionally has worked but this has never failed me.

this is my issue to
timtoolman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 05:50 PM
 
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.