F150 Select Shift Transmission - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



F150 Select Shift Transmission

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-11-2011, 03:21 AM   #1
PIPE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default F150 Select Shift Transmission

I was wondering if its possible to install in my 2011 3.7 v6 xl the select shift transmission? And if so, what is the exact procedure?.... Thanks.
Felipepipeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 07:51 AM   #2
Average Member
 
Superdave XL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Gwinnett County GA
Posts: 231
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This is very do-able. Take your truck back to the dealer and order the NEW transmission and associated parts. You will have to change your shift lever of course too so it has the little +/- on it. You would likely want the dealer to install it so it will still be under warranty.

I would be willing to bet the cost would be easily over $4000 for parts and labor. Hey, it's only money.

Do you REALLY want to change that transmission ?

I have the regular old six speed in mine and it works great.
Superdave XL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 11:11 PM   #3
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 890
Thanked 61 Times in 51 Posts
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Superdave XL View Post
This is very do-able. Take your truck back to the dealer and order the NEW transmission and associated parts. You will have to change your shift lever of course too so it has the little +/- on it. You would likely want the dealer to install it so it will still be under warranty.

I would be willing to bet the cost would be easily over $4000 for parts and labor. Hey, it's only money.

Do you REALLY want to change that transmission ?

I have the regular old six speed in mine and it works great.
WOW! Dumbest thing I read all week. GOOD JOB.

The select shift system as I understand it is merely the availability of different selectable algorithms. It involves no hardware changes, other than a different gear selector, and different software. It is possible that the different shifter is plug-and-play, and that it will activate the select shift feature. Or maybe you will need the option enabled in the truck software, if it is a possibility. I would give the service manager at your local dealer a call.
isthatahemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 02:11 AM   #4
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 488
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Actually isn't the select shift a new version of the previous six speed new internal parts that are different and other items. Or do the 3.7s have the select shift without the select shift enabled?
travisb05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 08:11 AM   #5
Average Member
 
Superdave XL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Gwinnett County GA
Posts: 231
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

isthatahemi wrote :

"WOW! Dumbest thing I read all week. GOOD JOB."



Apparently you couldn't see the humor in my response to an even more humorous question..................
Superdave XL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:33 PM   #6
3.7
(A random northerner)
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bellingham, Wa
Posts: 377
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

i have a select shift in my truck right now but am looking at a new one that is perfect in every way except that it doesn't have select shift (towing package). it's probably going to be a deal breaker. i use the select shift pretty much every time i drive the truck.

i don't think the OP was a "humorous question" at all. it would be great to know if it was possible to put one in.
3.7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 12:39 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,398
Thanked 129 Times in 101 Posts
Default

Don't over complicate something complicated.
Centexguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 01:03 AM   #8
3.7
(A random northerner)
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bellingham, Wa
Posts: 377
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

just how complicated is it? that's what the OP was asking.
3.7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 08:03 PM   #9
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 890
Thanked 61 Times in 51 Posts
Default

It consists of 3 parts.
1) A toggle on the shifter
2) Gear indicator display
3) A bit of programming on the PCM
isthatahemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:37 PM   #10
3.7
(A random northerner)
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bellingham, Wa
Posts: 377
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

well that's interesting to see. there are other posters who claim that the entire transmission needs to be somehow altered and that a person is better off just trading in and getting a completely new truck because the cost would be so huge. it seems like there is not much consensus on what needs to be done. according to what you have written, it doesn't seem like nearly as big of a deal.
3.7 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F150 1996 Fuel Pumps will not Activate kenw Electrical 3 11-13-2016 10:34 PM
What OBD II scanner for transmission code? alnen 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 11 12-16-2015 09:33 PM
Fan belt squeal at WOT shifts after tune. BillyBlurst 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 19 09-09-2015 10:19 AM
Is this 4x4 Shift Actuator and Fork Arm moving properly? (Video) SportsmanJake 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 12 09-04-2015 05:49 PM
overdrive band Owen Nelson 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 0 09-02-2015 11:32 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:55 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com