Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 2009 - Present Ford F150 > 2011+ Engine Related Questions
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Old 08-24-2014, 09:55 AM   #1

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Ecoboost turbo temp

I was curios, since the turbos on the Ecoboost f150 are oil and liquid cooled, if they get to hot would the coolant temp gauge rise? I was just wondering about this the other day when I was towing my camper. I have no idea what temp they are at and was wondering if I could damage them or if the truck would tell me before that happend.
Suzuki14258 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 02:13 PM   #2
Boost :)

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)

1. The coolant will go back into the engine and through the radiator just like the rest of the coolant. I've been working on and driving turbo vehicles for 15 years and have never seen coolant temps rise because of a turbo issue.

2. The turbos on these truck are standard journal bearing turbos. They are not ball bearing turbos. Journal bearing turbos can be run with oil only. I would certainly not advise anyone to do this, but journal bearing turbos can be run without the coolant lines at all.

3. The coolant is not there to cool the turbos as much as it is to cool the oil in the turbos after you turn the truck off. The vaccuum system in the truck allows the coolant to continue to flow after shutdown ensuring that the oil will not "cook" or "coke" on the bearings and seals in the turbos. When you shut the truck off and oil stops flowing, the oil can over heat and cook right there and can cause premature wear and failure of turbo internal parts. The solution to that is have a turbo that has coolant jackets in it or have a turbo timer which keeps the vehicle running after you turn it off and take the key out.