Topic Sponsor
2011+ Engine Related Questions Sub-Forum to the new engines that debuted in 2011.

EcoBoost Issues :(

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2014, 06:17 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default EcoBoost Issues :(

Hello! This is my first time posting on F150Forum.COM but I have been a visitor for the last several years, and I thought that I would tell my story and some issues that I have been having with my F150.

So I traded my 2011 F150 5.0 in for a 2013 EcoBoost for two reasons, one I loved the sound of the turbos spinning up and second I wanted to get a little better fuel economy. I don't tow too often, but when I do the truck always steps up to the occasion.

My issues first started in May of 2013 with the classic shutter and flashing check engine light during damp/wet conditions. Unlike many people with the shutter issues start my truck shuts completely down. Some times you can put it in neutral and restart it others, you have to pull over and let it sit. I have had it to the dealer several times and because it was built in April 2013 Ford says it has all the updates and they do not know what could be causing the issues.

Before this week the truck has been in the shop for a total of a month and still not any closer to a solution that before.

I took the truck in today 4/7 for the following issues and wanted to see if any other users have had any of theses. Im beginning to think this truck was built at 4:59 on a Friday before a long weekend
  • In 1 month under 1500 miles it has burnt 2 qts of oil
  • strong burning smell in the cab smells like burning oil or electrical not too sure -- thought it was brakes but those check out
  • Under heavy acceleration the turbo whines very loud and the truck falls flat on its face -- no power