Topic Sponsor
2011+ Engine Related Questions Sub-Forum to the new engines that debuted in 2011.

Ecoboost and 93- ITS ALL HYPE

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2011, 11:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ecoboost and 93- ITS ALL HYPE

Hello!

I have been trolling this forum silently now for 6 months and have gleened lots of valuable info, but now i feel its time to speak. This post may be long-winded~you have been warned!

1st, I think I may be one of the oldest Ecoboost owners. I took mine home from the dealer in Mckinney TX Feb 25 2011. I drove the 5.0l first, but found the torque from the ecoboost to be more desirable.

I have dumped nothing but 87 in the tank, and yes for the first 3000 Miles Mileage was inconsistent at best. I never Log it, but i mentally keep track, i swear when i first got the truck it was a consistent 12MPG even on the highway. Then at 3k like magic i started getting 20'ish mpg feathering the throttle like one would hike up a virgins skirt.

I have done 3 major roadtrips- Dallas, TX to Katemcy, Dallas to Austin, Dallas to Nacogdoches. BEST MPG WITH 87 21MPG 70 MPH.

At 4k I switched to Rotella FULL synthetic oil. I have been reading about these so called putting 93 in the tank and feeling HP increases, or MPG increases. It finally got to me.

Yesterday my company wanted me in the office, So I had to drive from Dallas TX, to Houston TX. Instead of billing mileage, i used my company credit card to buy gas. First fill up was from a chevron 93 10% ethanol from 1/8 tank.

I left Dallas at 545 AM. Ambient Temp was around 81 all the way to houston, high humidity, I had the cruise control pegged at 70 MPH all the way to houston only had to take it off ONCE for a pass. MPG meter read 21.3MPG. I left houston around 2PM and drove back to dallas where the temp soard to 105 degrees. I finallly filled up for the first time on the southern edge of dallas. 21.3MPG hand calculated.

MY OPINION: