Topic Sponsor
2011+ Engine Related Questions Sub-Forum to the new engines that debuted in 2011.

5.0 Engine knock

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2012, 12:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5.0 Engine knock

I need some help here guys. I have a 2011 5.0 cc shortbed with 3.55 4x4 just to get all of that out of the way. I have been noticing for quite a while that I have a small knock in my engine on the passenger side. The truck just rolled 36,000 miles. I checked on the forums and found the ac belt issue and the timing chain tensioner issue. However I don't believe either of these issues are mine. I don't here the knock all of the time, but usually after it is warmed up or been driven a lot that day. The other time I really notice it is when I am at a drive thru where you can hear it echoing off the building. If I had to take a guess right now I would say is it is in the valvetrain, but I am no expert. I expressed my concern to the dealership, and they listened to it. As most of you are used to the answer I received as well was that the noise is "normal". I told the shop manager that the engine shouldn't be knocking at all, and if it would have been knocking when I bought the truck I wouldn't have. I asked him if he would buy it with the knock it has, and of course he didn't give me an answer. Go figure.

I have turned in a couple warranty claims, and they fight me on every one of the claims. I am really starting to get pissed. If it wasn't for the $15 oil changes I would never use the shop again, and go elsewhere until warranty runs out then do the work myself.

As for the knock they told me that it isn't that loud, and they had another truck that has the same knock they have been working on. So I am backburnered until they find out what is wrong with the other truck, it blows up (which I don't see happening), or ford recognizes the problem and sends out a tsb. My knock is very consistent and isn't intermittent like i have heard for the timing chain issue.