Topic Sponsor
2011+ Engine Related Questions Sub-Forum to the new engines that debuted in 2011.

2013 5.0 3rd gear and the torque converter question (tow haul mode too)

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2013, 11:50 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default 2013 5.0 3rd gear and the torque converter question (tow haul mode too)

Hi all, just another question about my new trucks driving characteristics to compare with everyone else. I came from an 03 4 speed auto to the 6 speed so I'm still learning. On light, moderate, and what I consider more than moderate acceleration after shifting to third RPMs will stabilize and go up as expected - then actually drop a couple hundred RPMs when I think the torque converter is locking up. Normal? Just a weird sensation to me to see my tach drop when I feel like I'm pushing the truck pretty good. I wouldn't say that the truck bogs, but it doesn't seem like its pulling as quick as it should in third when it does this. All in the name of fuel economy I'm assuming?

Almost forgot, pulled the pop up for the first time on a test run the other day of about 10 miles. Used the T/H mode which was normal characteristics upon accelerating in my eye. However when coming to stops it shifted down to second quite aggressively. RPMS popped up to over/around 3k on several occasions and you were definitely lunged forward. I'm assuming this is as designed but seems like an interesting drivability choice made by Ford. The drive was fully on flat ground as well. Thoughts?

Thanks in advance.
Old 02-21-2013, 12:05 PM

Received 130 Likes on 102 Posts

All sounds normal to me. I like the aggressive down shifting especially when I'm on cruise control.
Old 02-21-2013, 01:25 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Good to hear - so you see the TC lock up in third as well? Tow/haul is going to be tough to get used to I believe. Thanks.
Old 02-21-2013, 01:37 PM

Received 461 Likes on 310 Posts

tc locks in 3rd.
Old 02-21-2013, 01:55 PM

Received 67 Likes on 48 Posts