Topic Sponsor
2011+ Engine Related Questions Sub-Forum to the new engines that debuted in 2011.

2012 5.0 Cylinder #5 dead

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2015, 10:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2012 5.0 Cylinder #5 dead

Hi. I am a Ford dealer trained mechanic but I have NEVER posted on ANY forum of ANY kind before so I really don't know what I am doing here, but here it goes. As I said, I am a dealer trained tech but I have been out of it for about 10 yrs. I own 5 Fords & my wife's 2012 F-150 has a strange problem. It recently started running real rough at all speeds & the check engine light came on. I read the code & it was a misfire code (P0305) it has approx. 66K miles on it which I thought was a bit low for the plugs to be worn out but I changed them anyway. It ran OK for about 50 miles (on the Interstate) & then I heard what sounded like valve pinging/rattling & it started to run real rough again. The check engine light also came back on with the same code. When I pulled the plugs back out, I noticed that #5 was black with oil soot (the orig #5 was like this too) so I know that it's burning oil in this cyl. I checked the compression & it is almost nothing--approx 12-13 lbs. The only thing that I can think of is a stuck valve, broken valve spring, cracked/hole in the piston. I have a '13 model with the same engine & it is fine with about 35K miles on it. When I was going down the Interstate after I put the new plugs in it, riiiiiiiight before it started running rough & the check engine light came on, I heard the valves rattle again. Has this engine had any problems with this sort of thing? I have looked all over the internet & not found ANYTHING like this. I thought if it was TiVCT related the whole bank would be messed up but the other cyls plugs all look fine & the engine runs OK otherwise. It will run better if you gouge down on it however, I'm stumped.....