Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

Some small things

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2015, 01:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Some small things

Well I'm new to a few things here. New to this forum. I'm also new to American made cars. New to trucks. And new to automatic transmissions. Imports have been generally less buggy for me, but I decided on the urging of my wife and in-laws to give Ford a try. I like the F-150 series as it fits my needs.

I just bought a 2002 F150 Lariat 5.4L v8 with 125k miles on the Odo.

I'm a bit of a mechanic and I love digging into engines, but if there's anything that my last car has taught me is that you can save lots of time and money asking questions.

I figured that most cars will operate the same way, but going from Subaru to Ford the only thing that's consistent is it's a combustion engine, has A/C, and power steering. Oh and it has spark plugs... lots of them (went from 4 cyl to 8 cyl)

Couple things I noticed that I just haven't the foggiest on how to fix.
1: my Idle tends to flux. Now I'm talking about it going from 450rpm at warm idle to 550 rpm and back again. It just "wiggles" up and down on about a 1 second cycle. The car drives great, and it doesn't stall or anything like that, but I like to keep an eye on things before they become problems. Is there anything I should be worried about/looking at? Someone said water in the spark plug holes in another thread... anything like that.

2: My main problem right now. I get A/C out of only the defrost. I have the automatic temp setup. Do I need a new Blend door or Blend door actuator or is this a vacuum leak? (or both). I also read that the RPM can flux when you have a vacuum leak, but does a vacuum leak in the HVAC affect the RPM?