Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

Rough Idle and Check Engine Codes

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2009, 11:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rough Idle and Check Engine Codes

Newbie here and have been using this site to help fix recent problem on my F150. I have a 02 F150 4.2 L with 95K miles. A few months back I had a misfire problem and also had check engine light codes P0171 & P0174. Based on what I read on this site concerning these codes I have replaced the coil, replaced the MAF and pulled the plenum and replaced the bolts with the green gaskets and replaced the big o-ring for the plenum cover. My misfire problem is gone but since then my truck has developed a rough idle (only when AC is off) and also it does something really strange when I go in reverse. When I put it in reverse the rpm's go up and down 500 to 1000 - up and down where it really starts jerking the vehicle. It will smooth out if I stick it in N or D. I went back to Azone last night and pulled the codes again and in addition to PO171 and 0174 it now shows 2 new codes P1151 and P1131. Reading this site for those codes seems to indicate bad O2 sensors. I also checked all of the vacuum hoses for leaks but don't see anything obvious. My concern is I seem to be doing too much trial and error with just buying parts and seeing if it fixes the problem. Seems like the only problem I fixed is the misfire. I am ok with buying the O2 sensors but would like to have a good feel that is the problem before I keep throwing money at the problem. Anyone have any advice that could help?
Old 08-19-2009, 06:37 PM

Reset the computer and see if anything changes. Very strange problem indeed. My first reaction was vacuum leak.
Old 08-19-2009, 07:11 PM

Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts

Sounds like a vacuum leak for sure to me. Is it possible that the plenum is not seated or torqued down properly and there is a vacuum leak from the plenum itself?