Rockford Amp Acting Funky - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



Rockford Amp Acting Funky

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2014, 09:51 PM   #1
Resident Forester
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
jprevat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 9,963
Thanked 443 Times in 429 Posts
Default Rockford Amp Acting Funky

So it is new in box and is the 250x1 and it is hooked to a 2 ohm Rockford 10. Problem is it doesnt play. It makes the sub move from high to low making a thud-thud noise continuously. When the RCA cables are unhooked the sub stops. The amp shows that it isnt in protect mode and I have it wired in the standard fashion without the use of high level inputs. Any ideas would be great because im stumped.
jprevat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 09:54 PM   #2
Village Idiot
 
Tackle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6,571
Thanked 462 Times in 397 Posts
Default

Try another amp/sup setup if you can. That cut the possibilities in half.
Tackle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 09:57 PM   #3
Resident Forester
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
jprevat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 9,963
Thanked 443 Times in 429 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tackle View Post
Try another amp/sup setup if you can. That cut the possibilities in half.
I dont have another at my disposal at the moment. I had the same sub and same wiring. in there on a boss amp and it worked like a charm... until the amp decided to cut off and never turn on again. Lol

Last edited by jprevat; 05-29-2014 at 10:08 PM.
jprevat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 10:29 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7,188
Thanked 406 Times in 395 Posts
Default

Its definitely no the amp or the sump. If it stops when RCA are unplugged it has something to do with the output on the RCA from the radio it self.
Carcrazygts2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 10:43 PM   #5
Resident Forester
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
jprevat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 9,963
Thanked 443 Times in 429 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carcrazygts2 View Post
Its definitely no the amp or the sump. If it stops when RCA are unplugged it has something to do with the output on the RCA from the radio it self.
So trying a new set of rcas will be my best bet to find out whats going on? I had to buy a new set today so I was really hoping that wasnt the weak link.
jprevat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 11:24 PM   #6
Senior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
ibd2328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8,192
Thanked 380 Times in 312 Posts
Default

Make sure the amp is 2ohm stable first. What are your x-overs set on? Do you have an infrasonic filter on it?
ibd2328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 11:44 PM   #7
Resident Forester
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
jprevat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 9,963
Thanked 443 Times in 429 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibd2328 View Post
Make sure the amp is 2ohm stable first. What are your x-overs set on? Do you have an infrasonic filter on it?
The amp is 2 ohm stable. The punch eq is nearly off, the gain is turned down.

This is the amp I am trying to figure out.

http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/products/details/r250x1
jprevat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 12:47 PM   #8
Resident Forester
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
jprevat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 9,963
Thanked 443 Times in 429 Posts
Default

Turns out the Rockford likes a better ground... straight to the frame and im happy as can be lol
jprevat is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Texas: 2013 F150 Limited oscarsierra 2009 - 2014 Truck Sales 5 01-19-2016 09:13 AM
Northeast: 1996 bronco lifted, RichP9 Pre-1997 Truck Sales 5 01-03-2016 04:20 AM
Can I get 120V AC from Alternator? ToTheBar General F150 Discussion 19 10-04-2015 12:21 PM
sub and amp instalation question kdanis5 Stereo/Audio 3 10-01-2015 09:53 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com