Rockford Amp Acting Funky - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 1997 - 2003 Ford F150
Log In 


Rockford Amp Acting Funky

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2014, 08:51 PM   #1
Wood is Good
 
jprevat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 5,689
Thanked 190 Times in 185 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default Rockford Amp Acting Funky

So it is new in box and is the 250x1 and it is hooked to a 2 ohm Rockford 10. Problem is it doesnt play. It makes the sub move from high to low making a thud-thud noise continuously. When the RCA cables are unhooked the sub stops. The amp shows that it isnt in protect mode and I have it wired in the standard fashion without the use of high level inputs. Any ideas would be great because im stumped.
__________________
jprevat is online now   Reply With Quote
Join F150 Forum

Join F150Forum.com Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you a Ford F150 fan? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Ford F150 Fans to meet online.
Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your truck, and have a great time with other Ford F150 fans. Whether your an old timer or just bought your F150 you'll find that F150Forum.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join F150Forum.com Today! - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


-->
Old 05-29-2014, 08:54 PM   #2
Village Idiot
 
Tackle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6,184
Thanked 399 Times in 347 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Try another amp/sup setup if you can. That cut the possibilities in half.
Tackle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 08:57 PM   #3
Wood is Good
 
jprevat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 5,689
Thanked 190 Times in 185 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tackle View Post
Try another amp/sup setup if you can. That cut the possibilities in half.
I dont have another at my disposal at the moment. I had the same sub and same wiring. in there on a boss amp and it worked like a charm... until the amp decided to cut off and never turn on again. Lol
__________________

Last edited by jprevat; 05-29-2014 at 09:08 PM.
jprevat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 09:29 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,419
Thanked 341 Times in 334 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Its definitely no the amp or the sump. If it stops when RCA are unplugged it has something to do with the output on the RCA from the radio it self.
Carcrazygts2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 09:43 PM   #5
Wood is Good
 
jprevat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 5,689
Thanked 190 Times in 185 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carcrazygts2 View Post
Its definitely no the amp or the sump. If it stops when RCA are unplugged it has something to do with the output on the RCA from the radio it self.
So trying a new set of rcas will be my best bet to find out whats going on? I had to buy a new set today so I was really hoping that wasnt the weak link.
__________________
jprevat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 10:24 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
ibd2328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7,958
Thanked 354 Times in 294 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Default

Make sure the amp is 2ohm stable first. What are your x-overs set on? Do you have an infrasonic filter on it?
__________________
ibd2328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 10:44 PM   #7
Wood is Good
 
jprevat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 5,689
Thanked 190 Times in 185 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibd2328 View Post
Make sure the amp is 2ohm stable first. What are your x-overs set on? Do you have an infrasonic filter on it?
The amp is 2 ohm stable. The punch eq is nearly off, the gain is turned down.

This is the amp I am trying to figure out.

http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/products/details/r250x1
__________________
jprevat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 11:47 AM   #8
Wood is Good
 
jprevat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 5,689
Thanked 190 Times in 185 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Turns out the Rockford likes a better ground... straight to the frame and im happy as can be lol
__________________
jprevat is online now   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
International: 2011 F150 Lariat Supercrew, Lots of Extras! schissler 2009 - 2014 Truck Sales 6 Today 10:46 AM
New to the forum! From alaska! iluqtun Introductions 3 08-21-2015 10:10 PM
2015 F150 Line output converter Crom 2015 Ford F150 1 08-20-2015 12:02 AM
Speaker upgrade questions wernerj16 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 11 08-19-2015 12:03 PM
2007 F-150 Speaker Upgrade Sailor_USN Stereo/Audio 3 08-19-2015 11:56 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.