Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

Rebuilding 4r70w - need tranny guru help

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2015, 02:51 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Rebuilding 4r70w - need tranny guru help

I have been rebuilding my 4r70w out of my 2002 screw 5.4 for going on two weeks now and I am almost ready to toss in the towel. I am new to the Ford world and also first auto rebuild. If there is a specific transmission section please forgive me.

So here is the issue. The stub shaft broke and in doing so I have replaced a bunch of hard parts. They are mostly all new. I also sprung for the high performance pack from Oregon transmission with the sonnax sure cure. So I am rebuilding everything back up and everything is spinning up great and feels nice until I install the forward drum with reverse drum. Once I do this I can barely spin it counter clockwise but spins ok when I go clockwise. It's like it's not down through all the clutches but it definitely looks and feels like it is.

Will it it be very hard to rotate to the right but nice to the left? What am I doing wrong? I have broke it back down and built back up 3 times and still is the same.. I really thought I would be done in a half a weekend and now it has been a bunch of time and I am wishing I had someone locally that could come and help me throw it back together correctly.

Any ideas?
Old 07-29-2015, 02:32 PM

Received 143 Likes on 135 Posts

Originally Posted by jtimm
I have been rebuilding my 4r70w out of my 2002 screw 5.4 for going on two weeks now and I am almost ready to toss in the towel. I am new to the Ford world and also first auto rebuild. If there is a specific transmission section please forgive me.