Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

Issue with door locks

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2016, 10:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Issue with door locks

02 king ranch super crew. Both front doors won't lock or unlock with buttons. How should I start searching for problem? Could it be both actuators or relay? I'm not very good with electrical stuff but mechanically inclined.
Old 11-16-2016, 11:24 PM
mbb

Received 890 Likes on 732 Posts

Door lock actuators are known problem

The motors have a thermal overload to protect from keeping button pushed
This overload fails

You can open actuator and bypass overload with tinfoil, and glue/tape/zip tie case back together. All you do is wrap overload with foil and reinsert it

It might work for a year or two

Honestly, its such a pain to take actuator out and get linkage attached again, its stupid not to fix it right . ( Imagine trying to get linkage and actuator to go together by feel inside door, for 45 min.). You will regret the rigged solution eventually. Actuators can be bought for $30 each.

Last edited by mbb; 11-16-2016 at 11:30 PM.
Old 11-17-2016, 04:29 AM
Now an XLT in Colorado

Received 2,310 Likes on 1,501 Posts

Is this a case where they did work, but now suddenly they don't? If so, both actuators failing at the same time seems unlikely . Ford's 5-wire setup for the locks is tricky. For instance, the passenger side lock won't work from the driver-side control if the pass-side switch is unplugged. ( I found that out by chance. )

Some basic troubleshooting should identify the problem. I assume you know this, but the first thing to check is fuses. (You'd be surprised how many people don't look at the simple stuff first.) The next would be to check for voltages at the harness, and switch operation. Do you have a multimeter or test light? I can pull up the wiring diagrams tomorrow (if you can't find them online).

Andy
Old 11-17-2016, 08:50 AM