Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 1997 - 2003 Ford F150
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Welcome to F150 Forum!
Welcome to F150 Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2014, 10:43 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Instrument Panel Smoke

Okay so the problem is on a 2000 f150 4.2L. I recently fixed my odometer screen
when it went out. I pulled the panel out of the dash and soldered the bad
connection. A week later I was driving along and the needles began jumping
back and forth followed by a huge plume of smoke coming out of the dash. All
the instruments went dead and the back lights went out as well. The radio
screen and lights flashed for a little bit but the next time I started the truck
they worked fine. I was hoping I wouldn't have to replace my instrument panel
before but now I'm hoping the solution is that simple. Any suggestions?
Southerner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 01:27 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default bad cluster

Okay I've been reading up on this issue and it would seem that the problem will be as easy as replacing the cluster. My new problem is that they're impossible to find. Is there anywhere I can get one that isn't at a junkyard?
Southerner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 10:19 AM   #3
cliffords a 4x4
 
F150_NAMED_CLIFFORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Laredo TEXAS
Posts: 861
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 27
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southerner View Post
Okay I've been reading up on this issue and it would seem that the problem will be as easy as replacing the cluster. My new problem is that they're impossible to find. Is there anywhere I can get one that isn't at a junkyard?
Here at the dealership we use united radio or aer technologies, but they cost a lot and charge you core. but look into them if im not mistaken they will sell to private parties. they will ask you for mileage and problem with the cluster. so have that handy
__________________
"Lord have mercy it's a 5lb BASS"
F150_NAMED_CLIFFORD is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to F150_NAMED_CLIFFORD For This Useful Post:
Southerner (07-17-2014)
Old 07-16-2014, 07:03 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
4x4dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CO
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Thanks: 32
Thanked 36 Times in 36 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

If your swapping in a used OEM gauge cluster - i don't think it will be a plug and play deal. PATS will cause you trouble and i think you have to tow the truck to a dealer so they can marry everything together. Once you plug it in i don't think the truck will start.
__________________
02' King Ranch 5.4 4x4 Lightning conversion - Ported Eaton M112 - Ported Plenum - Ported Throttle body - 6# lower - Walbro 255 - SCT BA 2600 MAF - 42Lb injectors - Dual Borla exhaust - OBX longtube headers - Built Lentech 4r70W - Lentech VB - 2000 stall converter - 381 RWHP, 507RWTQ
Build Thread

Last edited by 4x4dave; 07-16-2014 at 07:22 PM.
4x4dave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 4x4dave For This Useful Post:
Southerner (07-17-2014)
Old 07-16-2014, 07:40 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 42
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

^nope
97badass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 08:12 PM   #6
LUIGI DEATH STARE!!!
 
03f15012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: North Charleston, SC
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Thanks: 61
Thanked 194 Times in 176 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to 03f15012
Default

PATS is a bitch when it comes to this. Yes, you're gonna need to flash a new/used cluster to your truck or you are dead in the water, bub.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by sterlingone View Post
Every dollar that Tony Romo has will only be worth $.75 because he'll always lose the fourth quarter.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lost In Sync View Post
Darn Ecoboost killing batteries. Change to a 5.0 and see if that helps.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgtpatiolantern View Post
Whenever I have problems in traffic, I post a vague, scathing Facebook post about the ordeal. That'll learn 'em.
03f15012 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 03f15012 For This Useful Post:
Southerner (07-17-2014)
Old 07-17-2014, 11:51 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Okay my dad managed to find a used cluster for 80$ somewhere and it's currently in the mail. I had no idea they ran the PATS stuff through that cluster so I guess that's the next thing I'll need to sort out. Would I end up just taking it in to any Ford dealer once I've made the swap? Also, the day after my cluster went out my A/C decided to stop working as well. Is that a symptom of the bad cluster?
Southerner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2014, 12:03 PM   #8
Wood is Good
 
jprevat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Thanks: 53
Thanked 105 Times in 101 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 03f15012 View Post
PATS is a bitch when it comes to this. Yes, you're gonna need to flash a new/used cluster to your truck or you are dead in the water, bub.
The fact that I know what the luigi death stare is scares me. Lol they shouldnt need anything but the vin and a dealer should be fine to do it. They shouldnt need the truck if you can swap them up yourself.
__________________
jprevat is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jprevat For This Useful Post:
Southerner (07-17-2014)
Old 07-17-2014, 12:05 PM   #9
LUIGI DEATH STARE!!!
 
03f15012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: North Charleston, SC
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Thanks: 61
Thanked 194 Times in 176 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to 03f15012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southerner View Post
Okay my dad managed to find a used cluster for 80$ somewhere and it's currently in the mail. I had no idea they ran the PATS stuff through that cluster so I guess that's the next thing I'll need to sort out. Would I end up just taking it in to any Ford dealer once I've made the swap? Also, the day after my cluster went out my A/C decided to stop working as well. Is that a symptom of the bad cluster?
Yeah, Ford dealer is your only choice. PATS was used in these trucks from 1999-2003, so a cluster swap for a 1997-1998 was super simple.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by sterlingone View Post
Every dollar that Tony Romo has will only be worth $.75 because he'll always lose the fourth quarter.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lost In Sync View Post
Darn Ecoboost killing batteries. Change to a 5.0 and see if that helps.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgtpatiolantern View Post
Whenever I have problems in traffic, I post a vague, scathing Facebook post about the ordeal. That'll learn 'em.
03f15012 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 03f15012 For This Useful Post:
Southerner (07-17-2014)
Old 07-17-2014, 12:12 PM   #10
LUIGI DEATH STARE!!!
 
03f15012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: North Charleston, SC
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Thanks: 61
Thanked 194 Times in 176 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to 03f15012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jprevat View Post

The fact that I know what the luigi death stare is scares me. Lol they shouldnt need anything but the vin and a dealer should be fine to do it. They shouldnt need the truck if you can swap them up yourself.
They see me rollin'... dey hatin'... better watch your back for the deathly stare that falls upon you...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by sterlingone View Post
Every dollar that Tony Romo has will only be worth $.75 because he'll always lose the fourth quarter.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lost In Sync View Post
Darn Ecoboost killing batteries. Change to a 5.0 and see if that helps.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgtpatiolantern View Post
Whenever I have problems in traffic, I post a vague, scathing Facebook post about the ordeal. That'll learn 'em.
03f15012 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 03f15012 For This Useful Post:
4x4dave (Today)
Old 07-17-2014, 12:12 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
guages, instrument, instrument panel, panel, spedometer

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2
Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.