Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

Flashing Overdrive light

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2010, 11:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Flashing Overdrive light

I'm kind of new to the whole forum thing but I come across this and hopefully I can get some help. I have a 1997 f-150 5.4 4x4. The odometer stopped reading mileage at 252,000 miles, although the engine was changed around half of those miles. The other day, I had the truck in 4wd high. I stepped on the gas and when the truck shifted, it shifted so hard it literally felt as though someone had rear-ended me. About 2 days later after about 5 minutes of driving, the overdrive light on the column will start flashing, into each gear it shifts in it feels like it's shifting in 4wd, and the transmission feels like there may be slippage in the torque converter. Has anyone ever had this problem or know anything that may help? Please let me know. Thanks!
Old 04-06-2010, 12:16 AM
Found Off Road Dominating

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The overdrive light flashing is like a check engine light for the tranny. I would start by having a tranny shop look at that, and they will be able to tell you what it is. When i had that happen a couple weeks later my tranny went out. Prolly not what you want to hear. I would have that looked at as soon as possible cuz they might be able to fix whats wrong before something bad happens.
Old 04-06-2010, 12:28 AM

Thanks for the heads up. I don't want it going out yet!
Old 04-06-2010, 12:57 AM
Found Off Road Dominating

well if that is the original tranny your doing good. when i had my tranny go out in my explorer it was aroung 130k. it ended up costing me 1600 bucks to get it fixed, and they had to rebuilt everything. And when a tranny goes its always at the most inconveinent spot, like the middle of the highway lol. I hope this helps ya out and good luck.
Old 04-06-2010, 01:32 AM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post