Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

column shifter one off?

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2007, 05:42 PM
4.2xl black-out

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default column shifter one off?

hey, new to the forum so please help me out
a couple of days ago i went to put my truck in to park and it would not go in on my gauge cluster. i went in park with the transmission but the needle on the gauge cluster is on reverse. now when i put it into reverse it says nuetral and neutral is drive and so on. i have all the gears so i kno my trans isent messed up i think it is just the shifter cable?

i am not sure can anyone tell me what to do to fix this or at least what happened

i have a 1999 f150 xl 4.2
Old 10-27-2007, 02:54 PM

Default PRNDL adjustment

Hello, a newbie here, but I think your problem is the
PRNDL adjuster wheel.
Look under the dash at the bottom of the steering column.
there is a small wheel with a fine cable running through it.
Make sure you are the correct gear...
carefully turn this and watch your indicator.

(this is how we fine tune them on the assembly line)
Old 10-27-2007, 04:18 PM
TOGA TOGA TOGA

exactly on my cutlass me and my friend put in a head unit and the indicator didnt work, and me and my stepdad messed around with it and fixed it
Old 10-27-2007, 11:17 PM

It's a shift indicator cable.. Sometimes they get weak and break.. but like he said.. Just check it out under the steering column.. If that doesn't fix the problem.. Then the cable more then likely broke somewhere.
Old 10-29-2007, 08:13 PM
4.2xl black-out

alright i will check tommorrow and tell you what i see. thats for the reply's. so under the steering column theres like a little dial i mess with?
Old 11-01-2007, 11:21 AM
Ro™2k0F150

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

mine broke too.. but i rigged it with tape and a piece of string.. pull it so it can go back where the needle needs to be.. saved me a trip to the dealer.. eff! that!