Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

Cold Weather Operations

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2016, 05:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cold Weather Operations

With a quick search on the forum, I did not see anything on the subject I was looking for. I am Southern Louisiana born and raised. Our winters consist of shutting down the roads every five years for a little bit of ice on the roads. So I have no real winter experience. I will be spending this winter in Dayton, Ohio in training. My truck will probably only get used once or twice a week while I'm up there.

Any advice for surviving my first real winter? Anything you would do to your truck to prepare?

If there is already a thread on this subject, I apologize.

Thanks for the help!

2000 F-150XLT 4.2L, 5 speed with 235,000 miles
Old 12-01-2016, 08:47 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

2 wheel drive, I assume? Get some good snow tires in the rear, and put about 250 lbs of sandbags all the way to the rear of the bed. That will help you go. Stopping is the real problem, drive like an old lady, at least until you get some practice. Make sure you have enough antifreeze, and wiper solvent. Good wiper blades are a must. Most of us, up here have 4WD for a very good reason. Good luck, and be careful.
Old 12-01-2016, 10:36 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Put sandbags right on top of the axle in the back. You can also take some 2 x 6 and make a little holder so they do not slide around. We just did this for my son, basically just try to trap the sand bags in the center of your bed. The extra weight will give you better traction.
Old 12-02-2016, 03:43 PM
I'm *NOT* Skylar...

Received 53 Likes on 41 Posts

Looks like you have a 5 speed, so practice starting off in 2nd. And drive slowly. Sandbags are also a great idea.
Old 12-09-2016, 03:09 PM

Received 31 Likes on 28 Posts