Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

Changed Battery Cables, Truck Caught Fire

Old 09-14-2015, 11:46 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Default Changed Battery Cables, Truck Caught Fire

Hey Y'all,
Summary: Please help me by looking at the attached photos and telling me what the wires/lines are that I need to replace. I have no clue what they are called. I can replace them (and find threads/videos to help) if I know what they are.

Here is the whole story for those who care ...
I'm an amateur mechanic, and totally new to trucks and F-150s. My experience is with Subarus and Hondas.
Anywho, my 2000 5.4 F-150 wasn't starting. I eventually found the culprit to be the positive battery cable to the starter. So I picked up a couple 2 AWG cables and replaced the large battery cables running to the starter.
When I connected the new cables to the battery (specifically when I connected the ground to the battery), a (ground?) wire above the engine instantly lit up and caught fire. It melted apart a couple other wires or lines before I could put the fire out.
I am pretty sure I know what I did wrong here, and I plan on replacing the entire battery cable set with OEM parts and sanding the ground connections.
But I have no idea what I just melted/burned. Obviously, it's the handful of wires/cables in the photos, but what are those called so I can lookup replacements and how-to videos?

Thanks in advance for any help offered.

-Zach

Old 09-15-2015, 12:02 AM
Senior

Received 119 Likes on 112 Posts

Originally Posted by bobzavy89
Hey Y'all,
Summary: Please help me by looking at the attached photos and telling me what the wires/lines are that I need to replace. I have no clue what they are called. I can replace them (and find threads/videos to help) if I know what they are.

Here is the whole story for those who care ...
I'm an amateur mechanic, and totally new to trucks and F-150s. My experience is with Subarus and Hondas.