Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

Can you figure out this f150 mystery?

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2010, 10:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can you figure out this f150 mystery?

Hello, i am new to this forum. I am a novice mechanic, but now how to do basic maintenance and repairs. I have a 2003 F150 Supercrew Lariat with 4.6 2 wheel drive 138K miles. The day befor the problem started i drove my truck about 150 miles no problem. The truck set for about 20 hours over night and most of the day. When i drove the truck the next afternoon i notice a jerking when i accelerated. It got worse by the minute while driving it for about 10 minutes. I thought i might have bad gas so i fueled the tank, but still bad. finaly the check engine light came on on my way back home. I took it to autozone and they said it was a p0302 missfire in cylinder 2. I changed the front 4 spark plugs and replaced the coil and fuel injector on number 2. Still ran very bad, so i put some fuel injector cleaner, drove 30 minutes, but still ran the same. Then i replaced the fuel filter. The fuel filter was awful and completely stoped up. the gas was dirty and had traces of oil in it. The cat converters were check and still good. A compression check showed cylinder 2 was 25% less then the other cylinders. The mechanic said dirt must have goten past the fuel filter and damaged the rings on cylinder 2. He told me it was ok to drive it now. said i would just have to live with the jerking and lack of power. after that i drove it around some more hoping the fuel injector cleaner would improve things. after driving for 15 minutes i was turning a shap corner and my engine just died while going 25 mph. I manged to pull to the side of the road. the truck started right back up. After that the truck ran quite a bit better, but still bad. I went from having about 40% power to about 75% power. on my way back home it died on me again at two stops