Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

Break pedal goes to the floor?

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2010, 09:51 AM

Received 17 Likes on 13 Posts

Unhappy Break pedal goes to the floor?

Hey guys. I have a 99 F150 with 183k miles. Ive had it for about a year now and have had only had a few problems with it (mainly high oil consumption, which i expected).. I was driving around a field, admittedly through some thick brush at some points, and i noticed that to stop the truck, i had to really get on the break pedal. Even at very low speeds i was having to push the pedal almost all the way to the floor..

Now a little while after i first got the truck i had the back breaks replaced, but as i am no mechanic, im not sure where this problem would derive from. I thought maybe this could have something to do with the master cylinder?.. but the break fluid appears to be at normal levels and i have not noticed it leaking at all.

As i returned to the road, the problem continued and made stopping from 55 quite challenging. i feel pretty sure that if i had to stop at any sort of urgency, i would have a hell of a time. So if any of yall have had this same problem i would love some feedback. Again the problem is that the pedal almost goes to the floor, and even then its like the breaks dont fully apply.. this problem arose all of the sudden so im not sure what the problem might be.. Thanks everyone
Old 11-07-2010, 10:10 AM
the candy man

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

sounds like you may need your brakes bled?? im not sure just throwing ideas....thats kinda scary tho
Old 11-07-2010, 10:50 AM

Just bought a 99. Took it to my favorite mechanic, and the 1st thing he did was to replace most of the brake lines--all rusted to poo. I suspect you have the same problem, a brake line rusted and the fluid leaked out.

What is your brake fluid level? That stuff does not evaporate...if it is low it is going somewhere.