Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

brake problem

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2008, 12:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question brake problem

hey all newbie here. I've got a brake problem with my 1999 f-150. I replace the rear calipers, master cylinder, and power booster. I've bleed the system till I'm blue in the face and the brake peddle still goes to the floor. Can anything in the abs system cause this? Thanks for any info.
Old 09-12-2008, 06:06 PM
OVERTHINKER

Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts

Did you adjust the push rod on the booster?

Old 09-12-2008, 09:00 PM

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts

Hey newbie, welcome to the site. Am assuming you've been bleeding the fronts also till your blue in the face, I feel for you. My strange pedal feel is frustrating and I too am questioning the unknown ABS. Your case, is no pedal pressure, am I correct? Did you bench bleed the master cylinder before installation? If you havn't, doesn't it make sence to bleed 5" lines out of the master back into the reservoir than the whole system. In these chat rooms everyone gets insulted or peeved off. I don't know your experience so I'm trying to be as basic as possible. Torkum's point about the booster push rod length is a valid one. If half the available pedal travel is lost before contact is made with piston in the master, we have very poor brakes. All for now.
Old 09-13-2008, 08:40 AM

thanks for the replies, yes i bench bled the master cylinder and adjusted the power booster rod. This thing sure has got me baffeled.
Old 09-13-2008, 08:42 AM

forgot to say, the peddle has some pressure witrh the engine off but when i start the truck the peddle goes to the floor.
Old 09-13-2008, 08:55 AM