Anyone have a 24volt setup? - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



Anyone have a 24volt setup?

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-06-2012, 08:06 PM   #1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
fordforlife0225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 287
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Anyone have a 24volt setup?

Iv got a really nice, extremely loud air horn, but it needs 24v 3amps to run. I hooked up two batteries in series to test the horn but I don't want to install 2 more batteries in my truck. Does anyone have a 24 volt set up for something like this? How did you do it?
fordforlife0225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 08:56 PM   #2
Street Queen in the Mud
 
SR2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 478
Thanks: 0
Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts
Default

Just get something like this:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Waterproof-D...item43ae4f5722

12v-24v step up converter.

Much cheaper than a 2 battery set up.
SR2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 09:35 PM   #3
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
fordforlife0225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 287
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

that looks like a great option but im not sure what the diff is between a step up converter and a step up transformer. and if the horn needs 3a do i need a converter that goes above that for the initial surge? im not to electronically savy
fordforlife0225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 09:48 PM   #4
Street Queen in the Mud
 
SR2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 478
Thanks: 0
Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts
Default

Generally speaking, they're two words for the same thing.

It depends on if the 3a is the rated or peak draw. If you want to be safe, get a step up converter with a larger capacity
SR2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 09:57 PM   #5
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
fordforlife0225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 287
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

that wont mess up the horn will it? something like this http://www.ebay.com/itm/DC-12V-to-24...#ht_3155wt_932
fordforlife0225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 10:04 PM   #6
Street Queen in the Mud
 
SR2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 478
Thanks: 0
Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts
Default

The way amperage works is that a device will demand a certain amount of power in amps, and the power supply will either be able to meet it, or not.

Think of it in truck terms. Lets say you have a 4,000lb trailer. You can tow it with a Ranger, maxing it out; or you can tow it with a F350 and have plenty of power to spare. It doesn't hurt anything to have the extra capacity, you just dont need it.
SR2K is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SR2K For This Useful Post:
fordforlife0225 (10-06-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 10:34 PM   #7
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
fordforlife0225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 287
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

okay, i was thinking of it in terms of a bull dozer. if i have a high amp converter pushing into a lower amp device it will over power it.
fordforlife0225 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Headlight Options mlmorris88 1987 - 1996 F150 16 10-07-2015 09:50 PM
Dual 10" Subwoofer Box Fitment Question Pausnsk 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 10 10-03-2015 06:32 PM
F150, 2WD front brakes hydrant328 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 3 10-03-2015 09:07 AM
PA CB setup TexasF150 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 9 10-02-2015 07:07 PM
Adaptive Cruise Recall..... 15platinumfx4 2015 - Present Ford F150 3 09-30-2015 06:03 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com