97 F150 Instrument Panel Reset - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



97 F150 Instrument Panel Reset

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-16-2011, 02:34 PM   #1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Renton, Wa
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 97 F150: Can I reset the Instrument Panel Cluster?

Hello, I replaced the instrument cluster light bulbs on my 1997 Ford F150. As part of the operation I removed the dials on the instrument panel (didn't need to do that! ) now all of the dials read incorrectly. Is there a way to electronically reset the instrument cluster back to zero or do I need to remove and dials and reposition them again?

Thanks in advance for your comments and expert help!

Last edited by RentonBill; 01-16-2011 at 02:55 PM. Reason: Clearification
RentonBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 05:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
TheJMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Windsor,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 1,456
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

In a word, no.
TheJMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 05:03 PM   #3
Junior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RentonBill View Post
Hello, I replaced the instrument cluster light bulbs on my 1997 Ford F150. As part of the operation I removed the dials on the instrument panel (didn't need to do that! ) now all of the dials read incorrectly. Is there a way to electronically reset the instrument cluster back to zero or do I need to remove and dials and reposition them again?

Thanks in advance for your comments and expert help!

The same thing happened to me once when I was trying to pick back the miles!
vaughn202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 05:49 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
bigbadvlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Canada Eh
Posts: 126
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have an extra panel if you want to buy it (or trade for something), it also has the rpm gauge if you didn't have that before...
bigbadvlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 06:13 PM   #5
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
akdoggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 3,187
Thanked 283 Times in 272 Posts
Default

If you were to go to whitegauges you could buy a white faced panel or other colors to replace your black face, and it comes with the templete to reset your gauges correctly when removing the needles. Just a thought, and it would brighten up your speedometer cluster area.

http://whitegauges.net/categories/Wh...7D-Expedition/

I just looked at that particular kit and it just goes over the needles w/o removal. You can still find other companies on the net that do full face overlays and they require needle removal. I just remembered the one company who doesn't require removal. Good luck.

Last edited by akdoggie; 03-07-2011 at 06:16 PM.
akdoggie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 06:32 PM   #6
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
akdoggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 3,187
Thanked 283 Times in 272 Posts
Default

I just was reading how to reset the gauges if you know where they run when the engine is warm. You'll be real close but maybe not 100% accurate.

Engine warm. All needles removed, except speedometer with should of been reset at zero anyways. With the key on running and no needles replaced yet. The Tach if it idles at 750 or so, lightly set the needle on the stem @ the desired running rpm and press on. Same with all the gauges. OP, volts, temp should be fine, but fuel might be a problem as you may not remember where it was exactly. When the redlight for fuel warning comes on, you could always reset that particular needle. Otherwise all the others should be close enough for electric gauges, as long as you remember where they operate and set them back accordingly. Hope that helps some.

That came from one of the gauge face suppliers for those who have done as you have done. See you aren't alone, that's for sure. Seems common enough that they wrote about it.
akdoggie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 09:13 PM   #7
Junior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Rose Hill, Ks
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

should be able to take it to ford and have it reprogrammed for about a half hour labor. we do it at chevy all the time. Yes I drive a ford and work for chevy. It is amazing how much money I make off of warranty work on those things
dbrinkley81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 09:52 PM   #8
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
TheJMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Windsor,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 1,456
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

My scan tool can communicate with the cluster and I can position any of the gages where I want them using the bi-directional feature. I could set them to 50% and align the needles that way. Find a local mechanic who can do the same and have him set them for you.
TheJMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 10:17 AM   #9
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Renton, Wa
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Fianlly got it fixed.

We removed and replaced the "arms" until we got them to read correctly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vaughn202 View Post
The same thing happened to me once when I was trying to pick back the miles!
RentonBill is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wooo hoooo!!!! Picked her up yesterday ALScott 2015 - Present Ford F150 16 05-27-2016 11:45 PM
What OBD II scanner for transmission code? alnen 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 11 12-16-2015 09:33 PM
Rocker Panels fball1208 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 11 09-08-2015 09:27 AM
91' F150 351 / Fuel pump relay issue puke22 1987 - 1996 F150 1 09-05-2015 05:02 PM
door panel removel Melect 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 1 09-04-2015 08:22 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com