Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

1999 F150 Headlights wont turn off and tail and Inst lights wont work

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2007, 01:35 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 F150 Headlights wont turn off and tail and Inst lights wont work

Hello I am new to this, My first post.
My F150 Headlights wont turn off and my Instrument Lights and tail lights are not working. I can't find a fuse for this and don't know what else to check.
Any Ideas?
Thanks in advance,
Kimberly
Old 07-16-2007, 12:49 PM

it sounds like something is backfeeding power to the headlights (so that when the switch is off, power is still being supplied to the switch.) this is probably related to the inst. cluster and tail lights not working, but just for sh*ts and giggles, there is a fuse box that holds about 5 fuses in the engine compartment, taped up, near the fire wall, check that box because it holds the fuses to your towing plug (tail lights, etc.) and if that doesnt solve both problems, take your truck somewhere like a Circuit City, and see if you can have someone take a look at the headlight switch.
Old 08-03-2007, 09:31 PM

its probably the headlight switch..
Old 08-08-2007, 07:27 PM

headlight switch or the headlight switch plug in
Old 08-08-2007, 09:23 PM

i had that problem(instrument lights and tail lights not working), it was a fuse inside the engine bay.
Old 02-22-2008, 12:46 PM
Old is Forever !

Thumbs up I had the same problem

I have a '99' f150 pickup, same thing ,headlights would come on as soon as the switch was put in the park position and stay on(even with tha light switch off) untill I disconnected the battery. Also noticed that the instrument lights didn;t work either. After much headscratching, I called the garage that I always go to and the #1 mechanic said "it's the headlight switch, happens all the time" . Before bringing it in and replacing a $200